Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Get the coffee ready! You just can't beat this simple, tasty, moist cake! My family asked for it again as soon as the first batch was gone. I used buttermilk in place of the sour cream, but it still turned out well. Thanks for this great recipe. I've been searching for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Several family members loved it but I was a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
My cake came out good and hubby loved it too. The four stars is just because it wasn't as great as the one we eat at our neighborhood breakfast place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I substituted low fat plain yogurt for the sour cream & everyone loved this cake. I've added to my recipe box & am sure to make it again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I must say, all I was looking for was a dessert to use up some sour cream, and I was absolutely floored when I had my first bite of this coffee cake. The ONLY thing I did differently from the recipe was to halve the topping. It was plenty for us. Loved the flavor, loved the moist texture, and loved the ease of mixing it up. I will look no further for a delicious, dependable coffee cake. Thanks for sharing, DWBH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is a stellar coffee cake recipe. I made it last might to take to a meeting at work today, and am glad that there was a piece or two to bring home. I took the advice of several other reviewers and used a 9x9" pan for the cake and let it bake for 45 minutes, testing it after 35 minutes. I added 2 tbsp of flour to the topping mixture and reduced the pecans to 3/4 cup (and did mix the topping with my fingers). Since I only had 3/4 cup of sour cream, I increased the volume to 1 cup with 2% milk. The result was fabulous, there was no sinking in the middle as others have described, the top browned beautifully, and the cake's taste is superb (the 1 tbsp of vanilla adds a lovely flavour). Thanks for sharing the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Delicious! Everyone enjoyed it. It was soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Delicious! Moist, dense, easy...what more can you ask for? I doubled the brown sugar/pecan filling which may have been a bit overboard. Next time I'll increase it by 1/2. Also, I make it in a bundt pan. I've used sour cream, and also used greek yogurt. Either way it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
first of all - I love that this recipe uses good whole ingredients (no cake mixes). I was looking at a cake mix the other day and decided NO MORE. Too many funky ingredients. Simple ingredients are just as easy and you know what's in the cake then! I have made this several times the night before. I used a bundt pan and baked for 50 min at 350°. I put half the cake mixture, then filling, then cake mixture in the pan. After it cools a bit, I seal the whole thing, including the pan in my big 26 cup Tupperware bowl until the next morning. When I want to take it out, I put the pan in hot water for a few mins and it turns right out on my cake stand beautifully! Locking the moisture in overnight makes it super moist. To finish it off I mix a little powdered sugar and water in a ziploc baggie, cut the corner and drizzle it over. It turns out tasting like it's straight from the bakery and I've gotten rave reviews. Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is a tasty coffee cake for sure. I made about 50% more of the topping because I wanted to put it in the middle as well as on the top. Baked mine in two loaf pans and they had to bake for about 10-15 minutes longer. I didn't use the foil because I didn't read that part of the instructions but I don't see the point of it. Used Wilton cake release and it came out no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States