Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made the bundt version of this the day before yesterday and served it in my espresso bar. It sold out in no time and for good reasons: beautiful and delicious! I used 1.5 times the "topping" and put it in the middle, and added a little cardamom and nutmeg as well as extra cinnamon. It is important to grease your bundt well and flour it too; I did this and still had a small area where the filling stuck to the wall of the pan. Baked for about 50 minutes at 325 degrees convection. Dusted with 10x as suggested. Very moist; keeps well in a cake dome overnight (if yours lasts long enough) and goes well with coffee drinks. I do recommend lightly toasting your pecans or walnuts before chopping. It heightens the flavors a bit in the finished cake. This is one of the best coffee cakes I have ever baked and I have tried quite a few recipes over the last 10 years or so! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
4 words: super yummy super fattening. This has become the staple of every brunch/shower I go to and every one always asks that I make it. I doubled the topping recipe and have made it in a 9x9 pan,a loaf pan (more bread like) and also in a bundt pan (preferred method and cook for 1hr) for a more cake like presentation. For the pan version, I put topping on top. For the bundt version, I put the topping in the middle of the batter and it comes out looking amazing. People ask how I got it in there. (just put 1/2 of batter in, topping, then 1/2 of batter again). I've also made it with walnuts instead of pecans. I think pecans taste better but they're both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! Very moist and buttery. I have made this three times and each with a different variation. The bundt pan works best, but use generous amounts of shortening and lightly flour before putting batter into pan. After cooling in pan overnight, the cake literally fell out the next morning. Don't overdo the topping in the center of the bundt pan. The first time I did that and the cake separated when I tried to get it out of the pan. Using real vanilla extract instead of imitation gave it a better flavor. I also used slivered almonds, but didn't have almond extract to add to the batter. It was still delicious, but want to try it with almond extract next time. Using the 9 x 13 pan didn't work too well. The topping sunk a bit into the cake, so I served it out of the pan "as is". It didn't seem as moist as when cooked as a bundt cake, either. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made this and brought it into work. Rave reviews!!! It was wonderful. I followed the recipe instructions as they were written. I did make some minor ingredient changes -I only had walnuts so I used those instead of pecans; I used 1 1/4 cups of sugar instead of 1 1/2; I made 1 1/2 times the amount of strusel; and I added about 1 teaspoon of almond extract as well as the vanilla (1 tablespoon). I baked it in a bundt pan and I put some of the strusel topping in first, then half the batter, the rest of the stresel, and the remainder of the batter. I baked it for 35 minutes (my oven is a little slow), but it tested clean. The one thing in the directions that I think was most important is that you FOLD the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. By doing this carefully, you get a very nice texture to the coffeecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Very tasty made in a bundt pan with the topping in the middle. I dusted it with powdered sugar...very attractive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
First time coffee cake... simple recipe and delicious. Then I made it again and used almond instead of vanilla and it was a smash. This is a great recipe. Can't miss... follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rori
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Really delicious, reliable and easy recipe. A huge hit! I took the photo that goes with the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Oh. My. Gosh. This is a delicious coffee cake! Probably the most moist cake I have ever eaten, yum. I used margarine rather than butter (didn't have any) and Fat Free sour cream (the only kind I had on hand) and it turned out just beautifully. Don't know why anyone thought this tasted plain. I will absolutely make again, probably this coming week for the morning after Thanksgiving. Thank you so much!Oh yes, I didn't do the foil thing either, just served it right out of the pan with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
It isn't something I would crave, but it IS delicious. Some topping kind of sinks into the cake, giving it a yummy marbled effect. I didn't have a whole cup of sour cream, so I used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup whole milk. The cake is "melt-in-your-mouth" buttery, and despite one reviewer's comments, it was very flavorful. I added just a pinch of salt to the topping, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Could this be anything but perfect? An important step while preparing the batter is to hand incorporate the flour mixture. It does not come out as well when cheating and using the mixer for that step. I noticed some reviews rating it down a bit due to sinking of the topping. My first time making this I ended up with a solid brick of the topping toward the bottom of the cake. Still ate it...but not what it should have been. For anyone having a problem with sinking topping, here's how you fix it. Add 2T flour to the topping mix and incorporate all. It is easy to mix the butter in while melted or using the Cuisinart, but don't! Use your fingers to rub solid, cold butter into the dry topping ingredients. You will not see the "butter balls" and it will look like loose damp brown sugar. Use this method for all of your baking and you will notice the difference in all of your toppings. Then I add the pecans and top the batter. The other real problem is cook time. In a 350* oven, you must bake for 1 hour. Any less than that and you have a beautiful edge, but soup inside. Don't do the tooth pick test until it has baked 55 minutes or the middle will sink. At 30-35 minutes it isn't half baked. So plan for the hour, and it does not burn. It comes out the most perfect golden brown you have ever seen. Lastly, this is the only coffee cake that will still be moist 3 days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States