Amazing Oven Roasted Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
big hit with the family . they were so easy to make and so tasty. I added minced garlic and onion, and used sea salt in place of the regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Gates Frank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Good, basic and functional recipe for oven-roasted potatoes that lends itself well to personal interpretation. The size of “chunks” being relative, I cut mine on the smaller side which then required less roasting time. (I also roasted them at a little higher temperature, 425 degrees) As you toss and turn them a time or two, just stick a fork in them and when they’re tender they’re done. Any variety of seasonings or herbs could be used, even the addition of a little Parmesan, but tonight I prepared these with fresh garlic and chopped fresh rosemary and, for added flavor, used duck fat rather than olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I cut salt in half to make healthier option. Probably could have cut pepper back too, but they were great and simple just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
easy and yummy! gonna add rosemary next time. thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good. I liked the taste of seasoned salt on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I just tried this - using 2 wooden spoons with potato in the middle then cut like a fan - wow - this was good. I covered a baking dish bottom with enough olive oil nothing would ‘stick’. Initially placed fan cut potatoes in lightly oiled dish, pieced olive oiled fresh rosemary and sea salt in between every slice, a little pepper then poured small amount of olive oil maybe ½ teaspoon per potato. Then turned potatoes upside down – uncut ‘bottoms up’ and baked 30 minutes. Then removed from oven – using tongs turned all potatoes ‘sliced side up’ baked another 30 minutes. About 10 minutes before removing – turning the oven light on – I could see these would be great. Next time (soon) I’ll take a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
The potatoes in the picture look like http://allrecipes.com/recipe/roasted-fan-shaped-potatoes/detail.aspx, which I've had in my recipe box for years. To make the fan effect, I've found the easiest way is to scrub and peel (or not peel!) a baking potato, then line up the potato parallel between two wooden spoons and cut them thinly until the knife is stopped by the wooden spoons from cutting through the bottom of the potato. It's easy and it looks pretty cool. As for this recipe, it works very well, I'm making it for supper tonight, in fact. I add fresh or dried rosemary to the olive oil, though, then every 15 minutes I pull them out and give them a stir. Usually they're done after 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Dorothy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I want to know how to make the potatoes in the picture. That looks amazing. Do you cut them almost all the way through and then roast them? I have been making oven roasted potatoes for years and love them. I vary the seasonings to change them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jharmon27
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I was looking for a lighter potato recipe and this turned out nice! I added a little less salt then called for, and added some dried rosemary for a little extra flavor. I had to add a little more olive oil halfway through cooking so they didn't get too dried out, but they ended up delicious! Easy, healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States