Amazing Oven Roasted Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I'm relatively new to cooking, but this is a great recipe. First off, I actually had all the ingredients listed and it is very simple. Even I can't mess it up. I've made it about a half dozen times by now with minor variations. First off, 6 potatoes seemed like a lot to me (I'm only cooking for one here) so I halved everything which worked out nicely because I don't see how you're going to fit 6 sliced potatoes on one baking sheet. (I only have one). I found I liked to cut the potato wedges very thin so they would get crisp. It's hard for me to do consistently though so I do end up with some that are too thick (IMO), but I just let them cook longer than the ones I cut just right. And they're still good - I just prefer the thinner crisper ones. Another issue I found is an inconsistency in smothering the potato pieces with olive oil and spices. I always run out so I end up with some really well spiced and oiled potato wedges and a few that hardly have any extra flavoring. So now I am just taking the recipe as a starting point and adding more olive oil and other stuff as needed. I've been adding other things as well. A little garlic, onions and the crumbs from a jar of mixed nuts (almonds. cashews. pecans, brazil nuts, hazel nuts - just the crumbs). This is so much better than pre-processed "snack" food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
So easy & Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauri Martineau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Amazing Oven Roasted Potatoes Haiku: "So easy to make. Just needs a little less salt. Cook time was right on." I used red potatoes (not the itty-bitty kinds) that I'd cut into eights to ensure lots of surface areas for crispiness! Other than dropping the salt by a bit (we can always salt our potatoes at the table), I kept the rest as written, and I was pleased that they retained their soft interior nibbles w/ a nice crusty, brown edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
big hit with the family . they were so easy to make and so tasty. I added minced garlic and onion, and used sea salt in place of the regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Gates Frank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Good, basic and functional recipe for oven-roasted potatoes that lends itself well to personal interpretation. The size of “chunks” being relative, I cut mine on the smaller side which then required less roasting time. (I also roasted them at a little higher temperature, 425 degrees) As you toss and turn them a time or two, just stick a fork in them and when they’re tender they’re done. Any variety of seasonings or herbs could be used, even the addition of a little Parmesan, but tonight I prepared these with fresh garlic and chopped fresh rosemary and, for added flavor, used duck fat rather than olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I cut salt in half to make healthier option. Probably could have cut pepper back too, but they were great and simple just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
easy and yummy! gonna add rosemary next time. thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good. I liked the taste of seasoned salt on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I just tried this - using 2 wooden spoons with potato in the middle then cut like a fan - wow - this was good. I covered a baking dish bottom with enough olive oil nothing would ‘stick’. Initially placed fan cut potatoes in lightly oiled dish, pieced olive oiled fresh rosemary and sea salt in between every slice, a little pepper then poured small amount of olive oil maybe ½ teaspoon per potato. Then turned potatoes upside down – uncut ‘bottoms up’ and baked 30 minutes. Then removed from oven – using tongs turned all potatoes ‘sliced side up’ baked another 30 minutes. About 10 minutes before removing – turning the oven light on – I could see these would be great. Next time (soon) I’ll take a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
The potatoes in the picture look like http://allrecipes.com/recipe/roasted-fan-shaped-potatoes/detail.aspx, which I've had in my recipe box for years. To make the fan effect, I've found the easiest way is to scrub and peel (or not peel!) a baking potato, then line up the potato parallel between two wooden spoons and cut them thinly until the knife is stopped by the wooden spoons from cutting through the bottom of the potato. It's easy and it looks pretty cool. As for this recipe, it works very well, I'm making it for supper tonight, in fact. I add fresh or dried rosemary to the olive oil, though, then every 15 minutes I pull them out and give them a stir. Usually they're done after 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Dorothy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States