Amazing Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
EXCELLENT! Made exactly as written, except for using butterscotch chips in place of regular chocolate chips, per hubby's request. So moist and flavorful...loved the addition of the vanilla pudding mix. Buttery, yummy goodness...a defininte keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These were really good. I used butterscotch pudding mix because it's what I had on hand. Also, I sprinkled butterscotch chips on top. You could make a lot of variations based on what you have in your pantry. Cinnamon chips with raisins and pecans would be good or chocolate and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Awesome flavor, great texture, family loved them! Changed one thing: used 1 stick butter and 1/4 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup butter. Came out great. Just made second batch with dried cranberries and pecans in lieu of chocolate chips for my non-chocolate friends. Awesome as well. Thanks for a great recipe shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Sorry, but i really count on reviews when i look at recipes here and they're usually right on. This recipe was a real flop for me, though i followed the directions carefully. The bars were so gooey and just not cooked through. I actually put them back in the oven for 15 mins. and they were still gooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Just made these exactly as stated and they are YUMMY! Easy too! Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
The first time I made this recipe I was just looking for an easy bar cookie with ingredients I had on hand. This is what I discovered. This recipe is outstanding on its own but it is so versatile it has to stay in the recipe box. First time, I saw I had pumpkin spice pudding in my pantry so I traded that out for the vanilla pudding. 2 cups of raisins instead of chocolate chips and a TBS Pumpkin pie spice. The next time I had butterscotch pudding and used 2 cups of butterscotch chips. Today I am making them again. I am not sure what changes I have in store, but even if I don't change it all it will be wonderful. Thank you Cicada77 for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Yummy! I didn't have any white sugar on hand, and only a little brown, so I used 1/2c brown sugar and the rest coconut sugar. I also used whole wheat flour. Came out great! My daughter initially complained that they were too crunchy, and my son that they were too chocolatey. And yet they've been devouring them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Love this recipe!! I use whatever kind of pudding mix I have on hand and make lots of variations. My favorite is white chocolate pudding, white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts. YUMMMM! My kids ask me to make these at least twice a month! The original recipe is excellent too!! I hate hard cookies and bars, these are sooo soft and melt in your mouth even after being stored for several days! Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
These are very tasty! I also messed up a little and accidently used a small box of vanilla pudding instead of the larger 3.25oz box. And although they came out a bit dry, they were still very good! I added 1 cup of milk chocolate chips and 1 cup of raisins. Will definitely make these again. I can't wait to try them with chocolate pudding! Thank you, cicada77!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Thought the recipe was great! Everyone loved it. Also tried it again using chocolate pudding and peanut butter chips and was also great and the pudding makes it moist but not gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States