Amazing Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I am not a stickler for amounts and did add a little more or less than was called for. Also I forgot to add the cornstarch and cream - oops. Simmered the broth for an hour or so (the broth alone would make an amazing soup) before adding the mussels. My husband loved it as did I. Served with a green salad (including avacado and oranges) and a whole wheat bagette. Easy & fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The flavor in this recipe is truly unique and amazing. Due to the lack of basil I substituted the basil with cilantro and tarragon.I would recommend cutting back on the broth and wine mine came out a little thin. overall the best muscles I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Delicious!! Really brings out the flavor of mussels. I did make a few changes. I used canned jalapeno pepper, red pepper flakes (instead of red chili), added 1 Bay leaf, a sprinkle of chili pepper and black pepper, and rice cooking wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momchef68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These mussels really were amazing. I didn't plan to make this specific recipe, so I had to sub a few things based on what I had one hand. I replaced the shallots with onions, the fresh tomatoes with canned diced tomatoes and used red pepper flakes instead of the chili pepper. They were delicious, but I'm sure they would have been even better using the proper ingredients (as most of my replacements were downgrades). Next time I'm going to plan ahead and make exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
as the reviews and ratings say this recipe for mussels is amazing!! Very easy and every good. 5lbs of mussels went in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmurphy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Wonderful!!! Everyone should at least try it. It was easy. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Very very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I like mussels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is a great recipe. Prepared it some 4 times now and the result is excellent every time. I go easy on the Jalapeno but the taste is not impaired in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This recipe tastes A LOT like the Chicken Milano from this site. The only difference is the fresh tomatoes rather than sun dried tomatoes. I didn't care for that recipe, I think it was the sun dried tomatoes. I followed the recipe only adding shrimp along with the mussels. It was all right, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States