Amazing Muffin Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Okay, before I start, I KNOW I made a lot of changes but it was only due to extenuating circumstances and a deadline! I used Italian sausage, crumbled, instead of breakfast sausage. I also shredded my own potatoes, on the suggestion of another reviewer, and added some shredded sweet potato when I realized I didn't have enough potatoes. I doubled the recipe, also, and upon realizing I had no idea where I put my muffin tin, just tossed the entire thing in a casserole dish and called it a day. Found out too late that I had no butter in the house, so I used olive oil instead. I also used green and orange bell pepper because that's all I had, too. Finally, I sprinkled the cheese on top right before I popped it in the oven instead of mixing it with the eggs. I didn't MEAN to make all these substitutions, but the finished product was great regardless! I fully plan on making it again, per the instructions, but if I can do all this and it still comes out fine, then the recipe is definitely a keeper! ADDENDUM: I made this closer to the original recipe, except I left out the hashbrowns and just made the eggs in my muffin tin. My husband LOVES THEM. They're great for him to throw on an English muffin for a quick, on-the-go breakfast and I can make them in a large batch at the beginning of the week so he can just grab one and go. Keeps getting better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exact. I made these for brunch and they were egg-cellent! (Sorry had to!) We loved them. Very handy for breakfast on the go, a brunch or even a snack, too. Be sure to grease the muffin pans good or it will stick. I did have to cook the hash browns a bit longer than stated in the recipe to get a nice crisp to them. I will definitely keep this one handy. Possibilities are endless for mix -ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
As I'm counting calories, I did a slimmed down version. Used a low fat cheese and cut the quantity in half (was still plenty of cheese!). I also used a veggie sausage, zapped the bell peppers til softened before adding to the egg and also added summer savory to the egg mixture. Will use egg substitute next time. Man, these were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I understand this recipe is an ad for a sausage company. This said, I made with 1 lb. cooked until crisp, drained and crumbled bacon, 3/4 c shredded cheddar, and followed rest of recipe. Absolutely terrific! Will never try it any other way! Thanks for the inspiration, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Update: I have tried different potatoes in these. I have used potatoe tots, potato rounds, and hash browns. Tater tots Work great if you thaw them well and crush them up. I add garlic salt and chopped onion in the potato mixture and fill the tin half full with potatoes. I spray the tins with Pam and then spray the potatoes with Pam before baking. Make sure you push the potatoes down well. After baking fill with your families favorite ingredients. I fill the tin full and they rise up nice without running over. They puff up big but fall down after baking. A pound of tots makes 24-36 muffins depending on you ingredients. After cooling I put two in a zip lock bag and freeze them. It is great grab and go breakfast or after school treat for kids. I keep these in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These truly were amazing. The potatoes were crispy and buttery, and the layers worked really well together. The top was fluffy and the hash browns sweet, with a layer of sausage-goodness in-between. My family is craving this recipe so I'll be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I am eating this right now and it is so good!I did not have sausage so I used ham and it is great! I think next time I may add some tomoatos and maybe some spinach to it but then will probably need to add another egg. the great thing about this recipe is that you can use whatever you have in your fridge! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Delicious! I used the breakfast chicken sausage links and it was so tasty! Easy to make...I will keep this recipe forever....really good. I did add some green pepper too, for color. Do not overfill...the eggs do rise up.Make sure you oil/grease your muffin tins and the come out easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Only need to be sure that sausages are gluten-free, and this is a gluten-free recipe! Yay! Meredythe B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very easy and delicious! I will be doing this recipe again and will use it as a base and I will put my personal touch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Individual pizzas made on English muffins with sauce, cheese and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States