Amazing Muffin Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Okay, before I start, I KNOW I made a lot of changes but it was only due to extenuating circumstances and a deadline! I used Italian sausage, crumbled, instead of breakfast sausage. I also shredded my own potatoes, on the suggestion of another reviewer, and added some shredded sweet potato when I realized I didn't have enough potatoes. I doubled the recipe, also, and upon realizing I had no idea where I put my muffin tin, just tossed the entire thing in a casserole dish and called it a day. Found out too late that I had no butter in the house, so I used olive oil instead. I also used green and orange bell pepper because that's all I had, too. Finally, I sprinkled the cheese on top right before I popped it in the oven instead of mixing it with the eggs. I didn't MEAN to make all these substitutions, but the finished product was great regardless! I fully plan on making it again, per the instructions, but if I can do all this and it still comes out fine, then the recipe is definitely a keeper! ADDENDUM: I made this closer to the original recipe, except I left out the hashbrowns and just made the eggs in my muffin tin. My husband LOVES THEM. They're great for him to throw on an English muffin for a quick, on-the-go breakfast and I can make them in a large batch at the beginning of the week so he can just grab one and go. Keeps getting better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exact. I made these for brunch and they were egg-cellent! (Sorry had to!) We loved them. Very handy for breakfast on the go, a brunch or even a snack, too. Be sure to grease the muffin pans good or it will stick. I did have to cook the hash browns a bit longer than stated in the recipe to get a nice crisp to them. I will definitely keep this one handy. Possibilities are endless for mix -ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made these for a weekend breakfast but instead of frozen hash brown potatoes I used 3 medium sized russet potatoes, peeled and grated with the food processor then placed in the colander of a salad spinner and soaked in cool water to remove some of the starch. Empty the water and spin the grated potatoes dry. 2 cups of cheese is WAY too much - there would have been no room for the sausage, peppers and eggs. Bake times were perfect. I have a few left over and think they will make for a quick on the go breakfast snack. Update: I made these again with just a couple of changes that worked well. I used paper cupcake liners, sprayed with cooking spray. I reserved the cheese to just add some to the top at the end of baking time. This way I was able to fit a lot more sausage into each muffin cup. Using the convection setting on my oven really helped to crisp up the potatoes. These reheat very well, perfect for a quick breakfast on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Update: I have tried different potatoes in these. I have used potatoe tots, potato rounds, and hash browns. Tater tots Work great if you thaw them well and crush them up. I add garlic salt and chopped onion in the potato mixture and fill the tin half full with potatoes. I spray the tins with Pam and then spray the potatoes with Pam before baking. Make sure you push the potatoes down well. After baking fill with your families favorite ingredients. I fill the tin full and they rise up nice without running over. They puff up big but fall down after baking. A pound of tots makes 24-36 muffins depending on you ingredients. After cooling I put two in a zip lock bag and freeze them. It is great grab and go breakfast or after school treat for kids. I keep these in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I understand this recipe is an ad for a sausage company. This said, I made with 1 lb. cooked until crisp, drained and crumbled bacon, 3/4 c shredded cheddar, and followed rest of recipe. Absolutely terrific! Will never try it any other way! Thanks for the inspiration, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Easy and yummy. I used fresh potatoes and 1/2 the cheese as suggested by Baking Nana. Thanks for a tasty recipe. Next time I will use less sausage too - the sausage overpowered a bit for us. These are great reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These truly were amazing. The potatoes were crispy and buttery, and the layers worked really well together. The top was fluffy and the hash browns sweet, with a layer of sausage-goodness in-between. My family is craving this recipe so I'll be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made the following substitutions: Being on a paleo diet the potatoes were OUT. I subbed shredded turnip and cauliflower. I used crumbled turkey sausage; instead of 6 whole eggs, used 3 and subbed egg whites for the remaining 3, reduced the cheese and just added it on the top during the last few minutes of baking. Also added peppers, onions and spinach, oh boy, my mouth is watering right now just thinking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
These are delicious but I rated 4 stars due to the fact that I think some of the amounts are a little off. I used about half the sausage and half the cheese called for. With these modifications they are going over very well with my boys. I used fresh Simply Potatoes Shredded Hash Browns instead of frozen. I could definitely see switching up the ingredients. I want to try with spinach, red bell, and feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Not only are these pretty, they are tasty as well. I’ve made these with both breakfast sausage and using sweet sausage removed from its casing and cooked the crumbled sausage until brown. These are perfect for any brunch. I prefer these made with freshly shredded red potatoes, squeezed and nuked for a minute before adding the remainder of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Individual pizzas made on English muffins with sauce, cheese and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States