Amazing Mexican Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This is amazing salad. I pack quinoa salads for me and my husband for lunches and this is one his favorites, I am definitely adding it to our lunch salad rotations. I followed the recipe as it was listed and it came out fantastic, very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
just made this today because I saw I had all the ingredients except the red wine vinegar. Took a little taste of it and it is awesome! Even scooped some onto tortilla chips like a salsa! since I did not have red wine vinegar, I used a quarter cup fresh lime juice and a splash of apple cider vinegar. also subbed the red pepper for a large jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Love it! Follow the recipe for th most part. I only used 1 1/2 cups of red quinoa, but that turned out to be plenty! I had bacon I needed to use, so I diced it up and cooked it, and it turned out to be great addition. I also added chick peas, and all colors of bell peppers to give it more color. I didn't have all the seasonings for the dressing, so I bought a premixed taco seasoning, which had the seasonings suggested for the recipe plus some other herbs. The salad turned out amazing, and was great addition to my bbq. Of note, my salad turned out to be a lot more than I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I've never had quinoa before, but surprised how much we all really liked this. I followed the ingredients as stated for 8 servings, but changed the dressing to 6 servings. Maybe if you're making 24 hours in advance you'd need that much dressing, but it was very nice and moist after four hours of marinating, as you can see by my photo. This salad presents very nicely and would be great for company or potlucks. I served with some cherry tomatoes and avocado slices which eventually got mixed in, a nice addition to a Mexican salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have NEVER made a quinoa dish as delicious as this! The fast prep time also makes for a stress-free, post-work meal. I tweaked the recipe only a smidge: for both my quinoa and brown rice, I used vegetable broth, doubled the cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon, cut the 2 cloves of garlic and 1/2 teaspoon salt and instead used 1/2 teaspoon of garlic salt, added 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, and added one diced avocado. Affordable and convenient. Absolutely fantastic! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is one tasty side dish. very happy with the way it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made this recipe for company and it was a hit. I did make changes-used all pinto beans, all quinoa, garlic powder instead of fresh, and lime juice and rice vinegar for the dressing--had no red wind vinegar. The main thing I changed was to leave out the oil completely. I compensated for the liquid with extra vinegar and a little water. The salad was delicious and not dry at all. Will definitely be added to the summer salad rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Itasca, Illinois, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I love quinoa salad and when this one had the word mexican in front of it I figured it couldn't lose. I was right. It is ridiculous good! Of course I made changes because: don't like corn in salads, don't like raw garlic in salad(so I used garlic powder), didn't have pinto beans -so I used black beans. Oh, and I am addicted to chipotle chili powder so I used a smidge of that for part of the chili powder. It is a great base salad recipe to work your own little personality into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I'm a big fan of Quinoa salads and I stumbled upon this one because I was looking for one that didn't have lime in it and had red wine vinegar. I had to make some adjustments as I didn't have any beans either. I added the everything along with cucumbers, left out the salt and pepper, I like to add individually afterwards. I cut back the oil to 2/3 and added 1/3 of the vinegar. I haven't even let the flavours marinate together yet but snuck a bite and it is really tasty. Looking forward to what the family thinks tonight. I know they will love and this one will be a hit. Definitely give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States