Amazing Lentils and Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Maybe not amazing, but good. My husband and I each rated it a 4, while my mother rated it a 3. Made it as directed, except used chicken broth as opposed to vegetable broth. Served it on rice which was good as it cut the heat quite a bit and made it more interesting. I liked the suggestion of one reviewer to season it with curry as opposed to the cumin. If I make it again, I think that I will try the curry to give it an Indian flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Yummmm! We are not of the the vegetarian flavor and used chicken stock. Also I used hot chunky salsa which was definitely enough seasoning (I didn't need salt, pepper, or cayenne). I only used half the amount of lentils. Next time I will use a bunch and a half of kael. In general, I amped up the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was GREAT! I loved it! I halved the recipe and it was enough for me for two meals+. It was a little spicy. So next time I'll try mild instead of medium salsa and omit the pepper. I'm making it again tonight. Healthy, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was delicious and very easy to make. I didn't make any modifications and my whole family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very Yummy. We loved it! I used a different broth - 1/2 chicken & 1/2 turkey. I also was low on chunky style salsa (under 1/2 a jar) so I added a 16 oz can of diced garlic & onion tomatoes with juice to the dish and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Bares Argue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Buchanan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
i made this recipe very close to how it is written. I bought matchstick carrots that were already cut up instead of shredding them myself. I used a red onion-because I like red onion. I also found organic "baby kale" that was packaged like ready to eat salad. I used orange lentils because they were prettier than the green/brown ones, but I don't think it would matter. I added spinach too, because I needed to use it up. This was such a surprise! My eleven year old loved it and I loved it. We are the only ones to try it so far. Too bad it was 97 degrees outside today - it will make a great cooler weather meal- I will make this next month! It did make a ton, but my daughter and I will take it to school for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Glad I halved the recipe, as other reviewers suggested. Hubby loved it, and said it was a keeper, and he's pretty picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
My neighbors and I really loved this dish- even without the salsa (I was a bit chicken to try that). We ate it for three days because we had so much! Very filling and healthy-feeling. Next time I will use leftovers to try some lentil burgers and might also try a Peach-Mango salsa- thought that might add a nice twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Clyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a great vegan recipe. Many of my friends are vegan and now I have a new recipe for dinner parties in my file. I thought the cayenne really contributed to depth of flavor. The salsa and the broth already had enough salt, so I skipped it in favor of a generous dose of black pepper. After reading others' reviews, I will add some ground beef, sweet potato, and sour cream next time I make it for myself, to turn it into more of a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
WOO HOO! First time trying lentils! I wasn't too sure about this. The salsa was throwing me off. The flavors really came together though. Made exactly as writted except used lower sodium chicken broth. Others have said this was a soup, but mine turned out as pictured. Kinda of thick and hearty. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States