Amazing Lentils and Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Props to this recipe for being yummy, filling , and cheap to make. The only thing I added was more chicken broth because the lentils kept absorbing the liquid. One thing I noted is that my lentils were still a little too firm. I wonder if the tomatoes in the salsa halted their cooking? I don't know. But they were still good. And so simple to make . Next time I will double the kale. I served with homemade cornbread and it kept me full for like 5 hours which is a feat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I enjoyed this very much. I didn't think that it would as good as it is. I took a photo.. but the site says that it's too small? I can't figure out why.. That photo works well on facebook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERGROUP7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is really hearty and delicious. A snowstorms was in the forecast, so I made sure I had the ingredients on hand. Great, warm comfort food for lunch...and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyldorchid62
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
First time making this turned out awesome! I added fresh diced broccoli for additional nutrition. Perfect for this snowy chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Little salty for me but overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I didn't care for this recipe that much - I felt like the salsa overtook the other ingredients and it just wasn't the best. I'm sure with modifications it would be better -- perhaps omitting the salsa altogether and using fresh ingredients (tomatoes, cilantro, etc) in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
We didn't care for this, although it was a bit better the second day. It seemed to be missing texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Maybe not amazing, but good. My husband and I each rated it a 4, while my mother rated it a 3. Made it as directed, except used chicken broth as opposed to vegetable broth. Served it on rice which was good as it cut the heat quite a bit and made it more interesting. I liked the suggestion of one reviewer to season it with curry as opposed to the cumin. If I make it again, I think that I will try the curry to give it an Indian flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Yummmm! We are not of the the vegetarian flavor and used chicken stock. Also I used hot chunky salsa which was definitely enough seasoning (I didn't need salt, pepper, or cayenne). I only used half the amount of lentils. Next time I will use a bunch and a half of kael. In general, I amped up the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was GREAT! I loved it! I halved the recipe and it was enough for me for two meals+. It was a little spicy. So next time I'll try mild instead of medium salsa and omit the pepper. I'm making it again tonight. Healthy, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States