Amazing Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
First scones I've ever made and wow: this recipe is definitely a keeper. Followed to recipe except: --used whole wheat pastry flour --added about 1/2 tsp of minced organic orange zest --used 1/2 butter and 1/2 cold (solid) organic unrefined coconut oil (processed in a food processor, as suggested by another member - thank you!) --i love lemon-poppy seed anything, so (for lack of poppy seeds) i sprinkled about 1/3 tsp. chia seeds into the batter before kneading. Chia seeds worked great - i would add more next time. I think I'll try adding fresh grated ginger (or chopped crystalized ginger) next time. Maybe raspberries another time. As has already been said, the possibilities are endless; this is a fabulous base recipe! p.s. - I sifted confectioner's sugar over mostly-cooled scones instead of using icing, since i was giving them as a (house watcher) thank you gift to accompany the Key Lime Jelly gift i'd purchased while away -- i figured that sweet jelly was 'icing' enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was my first attempt at scones of any type. I followed the recipe except I added poppyseeds. I was expecting a fairly dense breakfast cake but they were not dense. They had a nice, thin crispy crust and very tender inside. In fact, they rose so much they kind of squooshed together while baking...no problem cutting them apart. I had to bake longer because they were squooshed. Next time I'll either use a larger sheet or two of my smaller Airbakes. I'll also halve the frosting and put as much juice and zest as I have. They were excellent the second day. Also used parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
These were easy to make and are amazing right out of the oven. I followed the directions exactly, except I made 10 instead of 8 and they were still pretty big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
These are a cake like scone. I prefer my scones to be hevier. They had a mild taste of lemon and I'd prefer a stronger lemon taste. Now they did come out moist and perfect looking. So the recipe is a good one. I'm just a picky eater and want more flavor. Yes I will make them again. I cut the frosting in half and still had too much. Will customize it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by UkuleleGal
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I love lemon pastries and have been on a scone kick lately. This recipe is great but just made a few adjustments. I wanted to be able to bake them in the morning so i prepped the night before by mixing all the dry ingredients in step 2 in a medium sized bowl and mixed in the butter with my hands. I added 2/3 cup of toasted coconut. Then i covered it and stuck it in the fridge overnight. In the morning i preheated the oven to 400 degrees while i finished with the rest of the recipe. Then i divided the dough into two balls, flattened to ¾ inch rounds and cut into 8 pieces each (16 total scones). Brushed the tops with milk and baked for 30 mins (turning at halfway for more even baking). They didnt really brown on top but i knew they were done b/c how they rose and they were golden brown at the bottom edges. And as for the glaze i saved a small handful of the toasted coconut from the 2/3 cup and threw it into the processor for a few pulses. Then halved the powdered sugar to only one cup. Added a few drops of vanilla extract, the coconut and just added fresh squeezed lemon juice from half a lemon. I think the butter and water is unnecessary for a delicious glaze. This was the perfect amount of glaze for the 16 scones. They turned out beautifully. (See attached pic. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UkuleleGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Very dry and crumbly - it was just basically barely held together crumbs. I don't know how 12 TBSP of liquid can hold together 3 1/2 ish cups of dry ingredients, when it says mix until barely moistened, so if someone knows what I did wrong I would love try again and change my rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Used my food processor to blend in the butter as it finely blends it in. You must use COLD butter and process just until the butter is fine. I put the wet ingredients together and then poured it in the chute slowly on pulse until it started to stick together. I did add a couple more tablespoons of milk. Dump the dough out on a floured surface and mix gently with hands until it sticks together and pat into a circle about an inch thick. I cut in 12 wedges and spaced them apart on a pan sprayed with Pam. These were great. Don't skip the fresh lemon rind and fresh lemon juice. Served with fresh strawberries and black grapes. Great compliment with the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
These turned out perfectly! They were so good. I would definitely recommend this recipe. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I liked the recipe, but to me it didn't have a strong lemon flavor.... I recommend to use have lemon juice and half lemon extract for a stronger flavor.... But I still liked the recipe, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
First time I ever made scones and they turned out OMG good! Wanted to make these because they would be good for summertime here in Florida. Had 2 marriage proposals! One from my husband! :) Anyway, they are great! Angelstar, send us more with different fruits or fruit/nut combinations! Awesomeness, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States