Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Wonderful. I added a bit more lemon juice and more mushrooms. My family really enjoyed this and expects a repeat in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galt, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
The sauce was my inspiration. I made it first and added 1/2 the cream and a tsp. of whole grain mustard. The bacon seemed too greasy with all that cream in the sauce so I just sauteed flour-dusted chicken tenders in olive oil. When they were done, I took out the chicken and added spinach to the saute pan and cooked it. Served all with the sauce - great method for making a quick and delicious sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
very tasty... would be good to find some ways to reduce the fat content... entire family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I rated this 4 because it was not as easy as it could be. Ive made this for years and here is what i do, dust the chx w/flour brown in little evoo remove chx-saute the rest of ingredients add your cream, wine bring to boil then add lemon juice and butter simmer until reduced and thick add bite size peices back to pot simmer for 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
The ingredients are great but the time estimate is WAY off and I find that I need to prepare it a bit differently. First of all I fry up the bacon in a pan, while doing that I dredge the chicken in the flour and prep my other ingredients including getting a pot of water on the stove for the pasta. I brown the chicken in the bacon grease with a little bit of butter (as needed). Once the chicken is browned I place it on a cookie sheet and stick it in the oven at 300 to cook through and stay warm while I make the sauce. I start by adding more butter to pick up the browned chicken bits and cook the mushrooms down. I like them seriously cooked down. Once they are totally cooked down I add the white wine and cook down again. Once everything is totally cooked down I brown the artichoke hearts in the pan until they get a little crispy around the edges, then I add a clove of garlic and then as soon as it starts to brown i add the lemon juice and more wine. I also add a bit of chicken broth to make it saucier. I then add the capers, butter (no need for nearly that much butter), cream and some thyme and whisk it in well. I take the chicken out of the oven and finish it in the pan. Then I serve with pasta. I prefer linguine with this and I toss it with a bit of butter and spoon the sauce over it. Top with freshly grated parmesan cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this recipe based on the fact it has all my favorite ingredients. It has chicken, mushrooms, wine, lemon etc. First I have to say it takes WAY longer than 30 min to make this. Second it is a very heavy dish. I don't know if I was full from the pasta or the heaviness of the butter, bacon and pasta combined. Either way, you hit a brick wall after eating this and actually get sick at a certain point. My kids hated it btw. I am an expert chef and should you still want to make this I would highly recommend the following steps to make it successful: 1. Make your chicken first, either by grilling it or just cooking it the night before, whatever works. 2, Put your bacon in the pan BEFORE the mushrooms. Logic will tell you mushrooms cook faster than bacon. 3. Add your chicken back to the pan and let it just sit with the cover on it while you make the sauce and boil the pasta. 4. You MUST watch the sauce like a hawk. DO NOT add more than a TBSP of butter at a time. You will separate the sauce, and give yourself AT LEAST 20 - 25 min to SLOWLY incorporate the butter. Do not rush this step. 5. Then just mix it all and serve with fresh parsley. I do not recommend this meal based on the enormous amount of butter and fat. However, should you still choose to make it, if you incorporate the above changes you should be just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was okay, we ate it but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I went back and forth between giving this recipe a 3 or a four because while the flavor was great it was too greasy for our tastes. I did cook the bacon on its own and drain it and I'm glad I did. I will be making this again but with much less butter. I didn't use the capers as my husband can't stand them but used marinated artichoke hearts to get back some of the tang that the capers would have added. Next time I want to try adding asparagus to the recipe, I think it would be really good with it. When sauteing the mushrooms I also added half a finely chopped white onion and 3 large cloves of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Very tastey will use a little less lemon and butter next time. My fiance loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I made this for dinner last night and it was amazing. I try not to change the original recipe but my family refuse to eat capers and artichokes so I substituted frozen peas that I steamed in the microwave. I always marinate my chicken and I cut the chicken into strips before marinating. The chicken absorbs the delicious sauce brilliantly. I also used real bacon crumbles that I lightly cooked with olive oil along with the steamed peas to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beheeka

Displaying results 51-60 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States