Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
this really was amazing! It took me a little over an hour, and I took quite a few shortcuts as mentioned in other reviews. I started with 3 thighs and cut them in chunks, then broiled them on high for 15 minutes or so. I made the sauce with a chardonnay, and only used 8T of butter. I had no issues with it separating, though I had a low and steady heat. I didn't have artichokes, and I made the bacon in the microwave and then crumbled it before adding it to the mushrooms (which I cooked in some butter). I poured half the sauce on the mushroom-chicken-bacon mix, and half on the farfalle after it was in the bowl. I stirred them separately and then together. I really thought the sauce was great, and I liked the dish, but it just took forever. Hubby liked it, but it's a little heavy so not a regular rotation for us. will make it for company in the winter, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I love this recipe - very rich - something different to throw in your rotation. Most of the kids aren't a huge fan because it's got a very lemon-y taste, but I love it. The only things I do differently are use less butter (the amount called for is really not needed, but that might be because I'm cooking for a large group and have to double or triple the recipe) and I don't use the capers because I forgot to add them the first time I made this. Not sure what exactly they taste like or if we're missing out by not adding them, but I think it tastes great without, so I've never bothered adding them. :) Oh and I also boil the chicken instead of frying it. Just boil it and then shred it and add it to the mixture when it tells you to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent! To cut fat, I omitted the butter in the skillet, used 1/4 cup butter in the sauce, and used lean baked ham instead of bacon. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great recipe. Left out mushrooms (we don't like them) and added 2 cloves of chopped garlic when sauteeing the artichokes, capers & bacon. Doubled the sauce but used 1/2 & 1/s instead of cream. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I tried this recipe and found the lemon sauce was so acidic that it was nearly inedible. I suggest 2/3 tablespoons of lemon juice is more reasonable. As I was expecting guests I saved the sauce by adding 250mls of cream and 3 sugar lumps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
OMG, to the creator of this recipe. I don't nkow whether to THANK you for introducing me to one of the greatest dishes of my LIFE (unforgettably delicious to my taste) or RESENT you (because it is sooo unhealthy). The only changes I made: doubled the artichokes, didn't add capers or mushrooms (what's on hand) and I added the lemon butter slowly to make sure I didn't get it too greasy as reviewers mentioned. I ended up using 2/3 of the lemon butter. SOOO good with double the artichokes - really helps add some tang through the butter. Mmm butter ... This dish was a hit and I plan to make it again for very important guests. I could have also doubled the chicken ... wait, I could have doubled everything in the dish and then just eaten twice as much ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was much better than I thought it would be. We all really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Oh my goodness. This should have been a smash hit. Pasta! Chicken! Artichokes! Bacon! Mushrooms! Capers! Lemon! Butter! Silly me, though, I didn't read through the quantities, I just eyeballed all those delicious ingredients. A FULL cup of butter? 5 tablespoons lemon? It was oily, too buttery, too lemony and yet bland. No one in the family liked it, including my child who generally only likes "white" food (like this visually dull dish), especially lemon grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was so good. I didn't coat the chicken in flour but that was just based on personal preference. Yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States