Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Used chicken tenders, canned mushrooms and smoked bacon. I cut the butter in half and used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and it still is way too greasy. Luckily, I was just serving this to the immediate family because the seperation of the sauce is not appetizing. I reduce the lemon to 3 tablespoons and still had complaints that it was too "lemony". Too speed up time I cooked the bacon in the microwave, which I am glad I did because that also helped cut back on the grease. I personally thought it had good flavor but would not make again because it is not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Great taste but needs more sauce. To lighten the sauce I used 6 Tbsp. white wine, 6 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice with zest from 1 lemon, 6 Tbsp. evaporated milk in place of heavy cream, 4-5 Tbsp. light whipped butter in place of 1 cup butter. Afraid it would be too runny with less fat, I used cornstarch in place of flour and seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and Greek seasoning. May also have contributed to no sauce. Loving my veggies, I added 2 cups torn fresh spinach, 1/2 can diced hearts of palm and 8 sundried tomatos at the end with the cooked mushrooms and capers, Wonderful flavor, but will double the wine, lemon juicfe, evaporated milk (in place of cream) and whipped butter for a more saucy dish. Thanks for sharing. Great with a green salad and hot fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was a really good recipe. Tasted good. My husband loved it. I only gave it 3 stars because this was the greasiest meal I've ever put on the table. It was so greasy I couldn't stomach but a small portion. If I make it again I will omit the extra olive oil to sautee the mushroom/artichoke/caper/bacon mixture because the bacon produces enough grease, no extra should be necessary. I would also probably put about half of the bacon it calls for. Other than that it was good, the sauce was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Really, really delicious, but a lot of work. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding some lemon zest to sauce. The bacon should have been cut before cooked, but i got in the pan with a scissors to cut it up. When I added the sauce to the pan it totally separated and was no longer the creamy looking sauce in the sauce pan. Was it worth the unbelievable amount of fat? Maybe on special occassions, but there has to be a way to reduce it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bog5nc
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is very similar to a recipe I got from one of those copy cat recipe books. It's a dish from Romano's macaroni bar & grill, very delicious. Make sure you make enough sauce so that the pasta is not dry. Trust me it's so delicious you'll wish you had made more. Instead of bacon the copy cat recipe calls for prosciutto and try angel hair pasta. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Urbanchick, Thank you Thank you Thank you. My husband took me to a fancy restaurant and I went with this but on the menu they called it Chicken Scallopinni . I looked and yours had all the same stuff . althought I did double the sauce cause in my house everyone loves the sauce. I swear that your recipe is the same as this well know restaurant. They just lost two weekly customers for life thanks too you my dear. Pat yourself on the back for me cause you out did professional chefs. Thank you hun. I am forever greatful,don't have to go to town to eat a GREAT meal. THANKS A MILLION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissDinTexas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this exactly the way the recipe said and my family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was a huge hit! I made a couple small changes to make it a little bit healthier: omitted the bacon, used skim milk with low-fat butter for the sauce, thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch since I didn't have cream. It came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I loved it! Tasted like resturant food. Now my macho husband and 4yr old and 6 yr old didnt like it cause they said it was sour but I LOVED it... and I am the cook, and that's all that matters. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omahataxidriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Very good, will make again!! Used only 1/2 the amount of butter and added onions....next time will probably use 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream....Kids loved it too, asked for the leftover for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States