Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I didn't exactly follow the measurements for the sauce and while my family loved the flavors, they wanted more sauce. It was a complicated process though, would have rather taken an hour rather than shoot for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My family loved this recipe, but I used way less fat than the recipe called for. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. It didn't thicken as much as it should until the butter was added. I used the suggestions from other reviews and used half the butter called for in 2 places in the recipe. I used olive oil instead of regular oil. I cooked the pasta and sauce at the same time to save time. Next time I would probably do the chicken early also. The recipe didn't make a lot of sauce, which I worried about, but as lemony/tangy it was, it was fine. I also used real bacon pieces that are sold as salad toppings (Hormel or store brand), and only used 2 oz. That way the bacon didn't overpower the dish. Finally I used fresh-grated parmesan as I plated it, which I thought added a nice flavor. Overall, a keeper recipe. Hubby and 3 teenagers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
this really was amazing! It took me a little over an hour, and I took quite a few shortcuts as mentioned in other reviews. I started with 3 thighs and cut them in chunks, then broiled them on high for 15 minutes or so. I made the sauce with a chardonnay, and only used 8T of butter. I had no issues with it separating, though I had a low and steady heat. I didn't have artichokes, and I made the bacon in the microwave and then crumbled it before adding it to the mushrooms (which I cooked in some butter). I poured half the sauce on the mushroom-chicken-bacon mix, and half on the farfalle after it was in the bowl. I stirred them separately and then together. I really thought the sauce was great, and I liked the dish, but it just took forever. Hubby liked it, but it's a little heavy so not a regular rotation for us. will make it for company in the winter, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I love this recipe - very rich - something different to throw in your rotation. Most of the kids aren't a huge fan because it's got a very lemon-y taste, but I love it. The only things I do differently are use less butter (the amount called for is really not needed, but that might be because I'm cooking for a large group and have to double or triple the recipe) and I don't use the capers because I forgot to add them the first time I made this. Not sure what exactly they taste like or if we're missing out by not adding them, but I think it tastes great without, so I've never bothered adding them. :) Oh and I also boil the chicken instead of frying it. Just boil it and then shred it and add it to the mixture when it tells you to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent! To cut fat, I omitted the butter in the skillet, used 1/4 cup butter in the sauce, and used lean baked ham instead of bacon. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great recipe. Left out mushrooms (we don't like them) and added 2 cloves of chopped garlic when sauteeing the artichokes, capers & bacon. Doubled the sauce but used 1/2 & 1/s instead of cream. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I tried this recipe and found the lemon sauce was so acidic that it was nearly inedible. I suggest 2/3 tablespoons of lemon juice is more reasonable. As I was expecting guests I saved the sauce by adding 250mls of cream and 3 sugar lumps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Pre-cooked slivers of bacon, then cooked chicken in bacon fat. Last-minute added artichokes and diced red peppers. Doubled the artichokes, didn't add capers or mushrooms. Added the lemon butter slowly to make sure I didn't get it too greasy as reviewers mentioned. I ended up using 2/3 of the lemon butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was much better than I thought it would be. We all really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States