Amazing Hawaiian Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this because it sounded different but good at the same time. It was ok but nothing special, It took ALLOT longer to prep and make than what it said. I think brown sugar would give a better flavor. I don't know if I will make this agian. Unless I really "tweak" it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I will never for the life of me understand why people insist on labelling food items as Hawaiian just because they have pineapple as an ingredient. This recipe has a lot going on, but very little going for it. I decided to give it a shot to see if something interesting might play out from the extensive ingredient list. I agree with the previous reviewer that the prep-time is much more than the recipe indicates. Sweetheart is Hawaiian and after the first bowl, he did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was very good. I have to say it spice level was hot. Not what my husband likes. I would cut back on the spiciness. This is a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Just so so. I would not make this chili again. Quite disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
yumm..i love sweet dishes! and its very easy and very good! my husband is Mexican and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
as it sits the recipe is something that is a nice change up - it has a lot of flavors - i have tweeked it and have gotten a lot of thumbs up and requests for the recipe - what i did was take off 1 tbsp od regular chili powder i added 1 20 oz can of diced tomatoes - i like italian style - and i also added 1 more can of pineapple and pinneapple juice - im thinking about adding a third can of pineapples but not the juice from the other can. a friend of mine suggested if i want to really kick it add a can of adobo chili peppers just like the can that san marcos makes. if i do i will let you all know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is a great chili. Next time I make it, I'll cut the chicken into smaller pieces (1" cubes was a bit too large) before marinading. And with the smaller pieces, just toss and lightly brown before adding to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Not very good, honestly. Better in theory than execution. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I halved and simplified this recipe (omitted roasted red pepper, butter, used onion powder for onion, did not marinade chicken first). It reminded me of my baked beans, but with chicken. The people I served it to enjoyed it, and the leftovers were excellent. 4 stars, not 5, for being a little unnecessarily complicated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was amazing!!! Everyone loved it!!! A little spicy, but that's how it should be!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States