Amazing Hawaiian Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this because it sounded different but good at the same time. It was ok but nothing special, It took ALLOT longer to prep and make than what it said. I think brown sugar would give a better flavor. I don't know if I will make this agian. Unless I really "tweak" it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I will never for the life of me understand why people insist on labelling food items as Hawaiian just because they have pineapple as an ingredient. This recipe has a lot going on, but very little going for it. I decided to give it a shot to see if something interesting might play out from the extensive ingredient list. I agree with the previous reviewer that the prep-time is much more than the recipe indicates. Sweetheart is Hawaiian and after the first bowl, he did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Alo-HA! great idea! just dumped everything including, frozen raw chicken ,into the slow cooker. used taco sauce instead of bbq sauce; we lllooovvee bbq sauce, but dr.colbert doesn't recommend it due to the high level of stealth sugar. used regular hot salsa, so we added paprika to give it more of a smoky flavor. next time, we'll add an additional can of pineapple tidbits with the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Based on the other reviews and cost of ingredients for this dish, I was a little leery of trying it but I'm glad I did! The instructions are definitely way too complicated, the point of a slow cooker is to minimize the work. I just mixed the chicken and bbq sauce together first and then threw everything else in (except the pineapple) and cooked on low all day. Used minced onion and garlic puree, crushed tomatoes, 2 tbsp reg chili powder and 1tbsp chipotle chili powder, raspberry chipotle salsa (all I could find). Definitely cut up the pineapple chunks, they are too big right out of the can. The only thing I would try and fix is the sauce ratio. There seemed to be too much sauce and not enough chicken and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Just so so. I would not make this chili again. Quite disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
as it sits the recipe is something that is a nice change up - it has a lot of flavors - i have tweeked it and have gotten a lot of thumbs up and requests for the recipe - what i did was take off 1 tbsp od regular chili powder i added 1 20 oz can of diced tomatoes - i like italian style - and i also added 1 more can of pineapple and pinneapple juice - im thinking about adding a third can of pineapples but not the juice from the other can. a friend of mine suggested if i want to really kick it add a can of adobo chili peppers just like the can that san marcos makes. if i do i will let you all know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was fantastic! Had a couple tweaks due to ingredients on hand, and it was a hit for dinner! Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe! It is now one of our favorites. I used all chili powder, as I did not have ancho chile powder and used tomato sauce instead of chopped tomotoes. It was delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Not very good, honestly. Better in theory than execution. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I halved and simplified this recipe (omitted roasted red pepper, butter, used onion powder for onion, did not marinade chicken first). It reminded me of my baked beans, but with chicken. The people I served it to enjoyed it, and the leftovers were excellent. 4 stars, not 5, for being a little unnecessarily complicated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States