Amazing Hawaiian Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
For the most part I enjoyed this, but the bbq sauce was a bit overwhelming. I would definitely cut this back to just moisten the chicken. This was a very saucy chili, so I would also half the salsa. I was able to find the chipotle salsa with the Hispanic food, and while it was not good at all with tortilla chips, this salsa adds lots of flavor for cooking. Also I'm not really sure all that chili powder was really necessary. I did not use the crockpot at all, it would have been just another thing to clean. This dish was a little time consuming, but relatively easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My husband liked the flavor but too spicy. I couldn't handle the smell of it. I am pregnant so I know that's the main reason but just too many spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Alo-HA! great idea! just dumped everything including, frozen raw chicken ,into the slow cooker. used taco sauce instead of bbq sauce; we lllooovvee bbq sauce, but dr.colbert doesn't recommend it due to the high level of stealth sugar. used regular hot salsa, so we added paprika to give it more of a smoky flavor. next time, we'll add an additional can of pineapple tidbits with the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Based on the other reviews and cost of ingredients for this dish, I was a little leery of trying it but I'm glad I did! The instructions are definitely way too complicated, the point of a slow cooker is to minimize the work. I just mixed the chicken and bbq sauce together first and then threw everything else in (except the pineapple) and cooked on low all day. Used minced onion and garlic puree, crushed tomatoes, 2 tbsp reg chili powder and 1tbsp chipotle chili powder, raspberry chipotle salsa (all I could find). Definitely cut up the pineapple chunks, they are too big right out of the can. The only thing I would try and fix is the sauce ratio. There seemed to be too much sauce and not enough chicken and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was fantastic! Had a couple tweaks due to ingredients on hand, and it was a hit for dinner! Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was awesome! My husband wasn't too sure about it at first but the whole entire family loved it. This will now be added as a cooked dish in my home..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe! It is now one of our favorites. I used all chili powder, as I did not have ancho chile powder and used tomato sauce instead of chopped tomotoes. It was delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Made this for friends scaled to serve 4 (always like to experiment on others!) since I live in a freign country things are not always available so made the following changes: 1 clove garlic, chayenne pepper for ancho chile(?), 1 tsp ginger, 1 tbs vanilla, 1 can kidney beans no black beans, green salsa 4tbs instead of the chipolte salsa, and finally cut up 6 sun dried tomatoes (found buried in the fridge). alot of change but still a great receipe... would love to make it in original form to see what it should really taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was amazing!!! Everyone loved it!!! A little spicy, but that's how it should be!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I halved and simplified this recipe (omitted roasted red pepper, butter, used onion powder for onion, did not marinade chicken first). It reminded me of my baked beans, but with chicken. The people I served it to enjoyed it, and the leftovers were excellent. 4 stars, not 5, for being a little unnecessarily complicated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States