Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Hershey's lists their butterscotch chips as gluten free. Nestles chips contain barley and therefore gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Be careful with butterscotch chips not all are gluten free. Like other reviewers I made a gluten free graham cracker crust first then layered everything on top. I also added some gf toffee chips to it. Our family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised when I tried the first bite. I don't like coconut that much, but in this it's amazing. I haven't had anything quite like this before. I followed a few tips on here like using nonstick foil and chocolate chips instead of butterscotch chips. This cooked faster than I thought. The edges were starting to burn at 20m. I would check on it after 15m because it can cook faster if you spread it thinner. Overall this is very easy to make, with lots of room for improvising, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luzanonymous5
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this for a picnic and everybody loved them! It came out a little too gooey once I started cutting them but I put in the freezer and they were just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Aldi's store chain carries GF chocolate and butterscotch chips. I'm going to try these with a bottom layer of ground GF rice chexs cereal (Aldi's brand) mixed with butter like a crust. I love this type cookie bar, I Sure hope they turn out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Bailey, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
It was really good but very sweet! That's the only reason I give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Of couse this is very tasty, but didn't hold together hardly at all. Very hard to cut too. I sprayed the pan with PAM and they stuck, so I should have used shortening. My gluten free guest only took one bite and my husband and I were left to eat the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I have made these with a crust using Annie's gluten free cookies. They were rabbit shaped called chocolate and vanilla. I put them in a food processor, then combined the mixture with a stick of butter for a crust. I eliminated the butterscotch chips and used walnuts for the nut part. They were better than the gluten recipe that uses graham cracker for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This dessert was super easy to make -- no chopping, melting, or even mixing! I made this dessert for a party which included a friend who cannot eat wheat. I was afraid it might be a little too sweet, but everyone loved it -- especially the men. Some of the guys, who are not big on sweets, had three servings! I think the coconut and peanut combination really appealed to them. I used lightly salted (rather than unsalted) party peanuts, added a bit more coconut than is called for, and cooled it in the fridge after about 30 mins. on the counter, so it would be ready to cut sooner. If you keep the ingredients on hand (and can find gluten-free butterscotch chips), this would be a great recipe to whip up in no time to serve to any guests, even the gluten-free ones! I'm sure you could substitute cashews for peanuts if you have guests with peanut allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Made these for a cookie exchange, my friend who is gluten free made me put extra in her cookie box because she said they were so Yummy! I agree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States