Amazing Crunchy Tofu Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Pretty good! I let my tofu marinate a bit longer hoping to get a more intense flavor. Some of the breading did fall off after cooking :(, but it was still good. I put a few extras in my salad to jazz it up, but overall it was a nice vegan salad alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Liked the Tofu .. still on the Fence with the Dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I can't believe I'm saying this but, this was delicious, I couldn't stop eating this tofu. I have tried many recipes for tofu and just never cared for it, but all the flavors come together just perfectly and the crunchiness of the tofu finish the salad off just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotinmykitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was a tasty and satisfying salad! I modified it a bit by adding grated ginger and sesame oil to the dressing and tossed it over baby spinach, halved cherry tomatoes, sliced carrots, and sliced radishes. I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
We liked the tofu part, just didn't love the salad components.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I'm really impressed with this recipe. You can play around with it for your liking. I left out the cucumber and shallot (I didn't have any). I also altered the marinade. I after frying the tofu I added the breadcrumbs, lemon juice, soy sauce, and added some rice vinegar to the pan and add the onions. I let that simmer and blend together for 5 min on med heat. Took it off to cool and then tossed that with the salad before adding the fried tofu. This technique will be my base for a lot more tofu salads to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErikaRachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harlem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This actually tasted very good. I had a couple issues 1. Onions and scallions can be omitted from the cornstarch mixture as they simply end up at the bottom of the bowl with excess cornstarch. 2. The recipe does not say what to do with remaining scallions and onions. I added them to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! It was completely filling (even my husband said so!) which never happens when I eat salad for a meal. I don't think I followed the recipe quite right - but it still turned out amazing. I breaded and fried the tofu, removed it from the pan, then added the soya/corn startch mixture to the hot pan so it was quite thick - a good dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Well, it sure tastes good. The tofu didn't get crispy, but then again I'm really bad at frying things. I want to try again after figuring out how to fry properly. I added in some bell pepper since we had it. The dressing is quite tasty, but there's a lot. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was a really good recipe! The tofu was delightful; however, it lost its crunch quickly. It was still good, though. I used extra-virgin olive oil instead of chili oil and I did not use the marinade as part of the dressing. Instead, I just added a bit of lemon to it. This is a very enjoyable salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States