Amazing Crab Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
The filling recipe for the shells is excellent if you leave out the sugar and sub sour cream for the mayo. I put two teaspoons of filling into a mini puff pastry shells found in the frozen food case at the supermarket. Bake 10-12 mins at 375 degrees. These were the first to go with everyone wanting more, more, more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Skip the shells and serve this as a dip! I made this for Thanksgiving and put half of the mixture in jumbo pasta shells as suggested, and served the rest of the mixture as a dip, accompanied by salty crackers (I used Saltines.) When people arrived, they didn't really know what to make of the shells (Are they an appetizer or are they something for dinner?, Do we eat them with our fingers or with a plate & fork?), so they went for the easy choice - the dip. The dip went so fast, that I took the shells aside, scooped the mixture out and added it to my dip bowl. I knew it was good when my father, who despises the idea of imitation crab meat, kept going back for more, even after he was told what was in it. It's rather thick, but the flavor is fresh and the green celery and pink crab & shrimp, make it pretty and appetizing. I'm savoring the glory of bringing a "winning" dish and will make this for future potlucks! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
These were easy. Nobody seemed to care for them. I tought the cream cheese overpowered the seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Everyone loved this great treat!!! I used sour cream instead of mayo as my Mom can't eat mayo. I also added some celery salt and lime juice. I will make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I used real crab meat for this recipe and it makes a very elegant appetizer....they do get a little messy around the edges after filling a few so I keep a little dried parsley handy to sprinkle over each one to cover my dribbles! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I made these for an office party and am still (2 months later) receiving compliments on them. I used plain cream cheese instead of Neufchatel cheese, didn't include shrimp, and added several tablespoons of parsley for colour. Next time I will make as a dip and serve with crackers; the pasta shells were a lot of trouble, didn't present well, and added nothing taste-wise. Overall, a very rich but delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
i made these for a dinner party over a year ago and they were a HUGE hit. not only that, my boyfriend STILL OBSESSES about these things, asking for them ALL the time. It's really good, if you don't mind the nagging to make them again and again. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I spent a lot of time trying make this work with the shells. The bad news is that no one cared for the presentation. The good news is that the crab mix alone is terrific hot or cold on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Wow, Will be making this often I used real cream cheese and they tasted great. Babs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Pretty tasty, but I would probably use less onion next time. But all in all, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States