Amazing Crab Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This was REALLY good. I didn't stuff them in shells like it called for but I made it as a dip/appetizer with crackers. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zfamily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I made a few changes and received rave reviews from the people my husband works with in Rockford, IL. I used 2 cans of crab meat (located by the tuna in your local grocery) and 1 can of lump crab meat. I used cream cheese instead of the other... i didnt stuff the shells--it was served with crackers as a cold dip. Awesome.. none left
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Good filling--would be good stuffed in celery sticks also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Made these for a large party and they went largely untouched. Have to agree with others who said the shells add nothing, they really don't. The mixture itself is decent, would be worthy served as a dip. But the taste I really came away with was onion and cream cheese. The seafood almost disappears completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Skip the shells and serve this as a dip! I made this for Thanksgiving and put half of the mixture in jumbo pasta shells as suggested, and served the rest of the mixture as a dip, accompanied by salty crackers (I used Saltines.) When people arrived, they didn't really know what to make of the shells (Are they an appetizer or are they something for dinner?, Do we eat them with our fingers or with a plate & fork?), so they went for the easy choice - the dip. The dip went so fast, that I took the shells aside, scooped the mixture out and added it to my dip bowl. I knew it was good when my father, who despises the idea of imitation crab meat, kept going back for more, even after he was told what was in it. It's rather thick, but the flavor is fresh and the green celery and pink crab & shrimp, make it pretty and appetizing. I'm savoring the glory of bringing a "winning" dish and will make this for future potlucks! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I just made these, went to give my husband a sample bite and he took the whole thing. Since we are trying to watch the fat intake, I used Fat Free Cream Cheese and reduced fat Mayo. Will definatly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXLADY3K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Good recipe to bring to outdoor cookouts or as an appetizer for a party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This recipe was a hit at my "Girls Game Night", I have requests for it every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I did as the last suggested by leaving out sugar, using sour cream instead of mayo, and baking in mini pastry shells. Omigosh! Soooo good! Absolutely delicous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy'slearningtocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
The filling recipe for the shells is excellent if you leave out the sugar and sub sour cream for the mayo. I put two teaspoons of filling into a mini puff pastry shells found in the frozen food case at the supermarket. Bake 10-12 mins at 375 degrees. These were the first to go with everyone wanting more, more, more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States