Amazing Crab Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I read all the rave reviews & couldn't wait to make it. I followed the recipe & made a few changes suggested in the reviews. I made it the night before & tasted it in the orning. It was Blah! I started adding more seasonings more Old Bay,salt, pepper, etc. Still blah! It was Hardly anyone ate it. Needless to say I won't be making it again. What frustrates me is all the raves it got & I made it for our annual Christmas party & it was very disappointing. When this happens I always wondered what I could have done wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Forget the pasta shells. But as a dip it's pretty good. It's a little too rich for my taste, so much neufchatel! Needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I love these things, but I started making them (20 years ago) with tuna, just the way I made tuna/macaroni salad, but inside the shells! A scrap of lettuce or parsley makes them look nice for the short time they're on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made these for a Christmas Party and I got great comments on them. I used med. sized tomatoes as a couple of other reviewers said because I thought the shells would not add any flavor at all. I halved the recipe as it was a small get together. I did not use the shrimp and used immitation lobster instead of crab. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I made the filling this weekend and as others suggested, used it in puff pastry shells. It was ok, not enough seasoning for me. I may try the filling again, but will use the food processor to make the shrimp and finer and then use as a filling in wonton wrappers and then bake. The recipe is a good base, just needs some tweaking for my household tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I took other's advice and used puff pastry shells instead of pasta shells. Didn't add celery because nobody likes it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
use a bit of old bay instead of salt. More celery less onion. serve on crackers instead of shells
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammie cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is good. I made it as a dip for a party. I like it alot but don't think that it will get alot of requests for it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYANNMARI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Wonderful recipe! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States