Amazing Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Texture 5 stars; Flavor 3.5 stars. We made this with all whole wheat, and the cake was still very, very moist and not too heavy in my opinion. I wish I had read the reviews ahead of time as there was too much oil for us. I would probably also add some more spice. If whole wheat required more moisture when less oil is used, then some apple sauce, or maybe even milk, might be a great substitute. THE PROBLEM FOR US: my husband and daughter could taste something related to the corn. I told my daughter she could pick the corn out if she wanted, but she said that it wasn't the corn pieces - instead, there was a general corn flavor that seemed out of keeping for a spice cake? I enjoyed the cake fine, but it wasn't spectacular - nice - good, just not extra special IMHO. Maybe less oil would fix it? I mostly tried this recipe because we inherited about a dozen foodservice sized cans of creamed corn and needed some recipes to use it up. It was fun to try this recipe, but in the future, I'd prefer some of the other creamed corn recipes I found on this site, such as the silky egg drop soup type recipes, traditional corn chowder (doctored up with additional add ins), a Mexican soup with creamed corn in it, corn bread, my grandmother's creamed corn casserole and...... my favorite: corn fritters. Thanks for another recipe to experiment with. It was fun to see how well this did turn out - - - I just have other preferences when it comes to using up more of that creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Disappointing results. Turned out to be just another coffee cake. Too fluffy, with not enough corn or cinnamon flavor. I won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Sorry, but this isn't worth doing. I had high hopes, but thought it was bland. My husband thought it was ok, until he got indigestion from it. He said to forget doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I don't know about this after taste or cornbread - all I know is amongst peanut butter balls, coffee bonbons and jelly filled doughnuts at my holiday party, this cake got the best reviews! Cut the oil to 2/3 cup and used up the last of some dried cherries I had in place of raisins. No nuts please! A fantastic spice cake and the perfect partner for a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
As per other reviews, I reduced oil to 2/3 cup. I used 1 1/4 cup white flour and 1 cup wheat flour. For this recipe, I will ALWAYS use this exchange of wheat flour, because both flavor and texture are SO much better! White sugar & brown sugar 1/2 cup each. Baked in 10" tube pan about 45 minutes. Sprinkled powdered sugar on top, rather than ice it. I cut a slice, posting a photo to show how it looks. The only "after taste" is a good flavor -- and not too sweet, since I cut back sugar. Will add a bit more cinnamon next time. This does NOT taste like "corn bread!" I don't know how anyone could say that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was good, for being made with corn. I think you may as well just have cornbread though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wake'n bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I loved this cake. I used pecans and chopped the nuts an raisins eally fine before adding to the batter. I think I pulled it out of the oven a little too soon but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I love this recipe. I put a little bit milk though. Love the cinnamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I work at a soup kitchen every week and am always looking for interesting desserts. Since we have quite a stock of cream-style corn, I figured I would try this. It was a pretty big hit; I put brown sugar on the top to make it a little sweeter, and added extra walnuts. 2/3 c oil is plenty, no need for the full cup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I made this cake yesterday and was very surprise on the results. Very moist, nice dense, heavy cake. I did the recipe exactly the way it is written. I don't understand what everyone is talking about an after taste? Great cake. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Borah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States