Amazing Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Addictive! I've made it 3 times so far but I followed the suggestions gived by Krpayne. As she suggested I used 3 eggs, 3/4 cup of baking mix, 2 1/4 cups of milk and 2 tsp of vanilla. I took it to a family dinner and everyone loved it! Maybe this recipe should be written up again with these changes and called something like "Ultimate Impossible Pie" thanks Krpayne ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
A very easy pie that taste good, but I would not use it for a special meal. It is not fancy enough for holidays; I think the appearance and texture are more suited for every day. I do agree with one review about the egg taste although it wasn't bad! When I make this pie again, I am going to try and use one less egg, an additional 1/4 cup of baking mix, an additional 1/4 cup milk, and an additional tsp of vanilla. Hopefully this will help the texture be more smooth not so "eggy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starwood
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I tried this recipe w/ the modifications that were suggested by Krpayne and it was absolutely an Amazing Coconut Pie. Next time I make it -- I'll use coconut extract instead of vanilla. While the pie was delish...it was more egg custardy and not as coconut. I submitted a picture of this pie, it actually came out very pretty, golden brown. I also only baked it for 50 min rather than the recommended 60 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I have made this many, many times. I add the coconut at the end and just pulse to mix, pour in the buttered pan, then add another cup of coconut on top. That way there's plenty of coconut throughout the pie (preventing that eggy-ness) and it also gets a boost of flavor from the deeply browned top crust of nicely toasted coconut. I have also recently started using gluten free pancake mix instead of Bisquick with no problems. p.s. BUTTER makes a difference in the pan for browning on the bottom. I use pyrex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
I was skeptical about using a baking mix for the self-forming crust due to its saltiness. But it turned out fine and tasted wonderful! I used the Reduced Fat Bisquick and skim milk - no problems. Also, I baked it in a French White 10-in. dish instead of the pie pan. It came out looking nice and provides more servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This recipe has also been in my family for years. It is fast and easy. I'm not sure why some of the other's didn't find the crust. The only difference that I saw with my recipe is that I use 1 1/2 tsps. of vanilla. I also use bisquick mix and you can use butter or margarine in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I read all the other reviews first, and made a couple changes. I only used 3 eggs instead of 4, and it still tasted "eggy" but in a good way. I also added an extra 1/2 tsp of vanilla. The pie does form it's own crust on the top and the bottom, but the bottom crust is thiner and soggy due to the custardy filling that's created. The flavor was good...not overly sweet, but I think it needs a thicker consistency. If I were to make it again, I think I'd add more bisquick because the pie was barely an inch thick. With one or two more changes I think it would be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I wouldn't call this pie amazing. It was just a little too eggy for me. I really thought that it would taste more like coconut. I even substituted coconut milk for regular milk, but the eggs overpowered everything. I also didn't have crust. It was like custard on the bottom and coconut on the top. I will not make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
We really liked the pie, but the "makes its own crust" part is misleading. It does form a biscuity, coconutty crust on the TOP of the pie, but nothing on the bottom. Still, it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I have been making this pie for years and my family loves it. One slight change in the ingredients is the butter should be melted not softened. Also, for those who had a problem getting a crust -- my recipe calls for all the ingredients to be put into a blender and blended on "high" for a minute. I have always had a nice bottom crust and the blender may have something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States