Amazing Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Excellent pie! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Addictive! I've made it 3 times so far but I followed the suggestions gived by Krpayne. As she suggested I used 3 eggs, 3/4 cup of baking mix, 2 1/4 cups of milk and 2 tsp of vanilla. I took it to a family dinner and everyone loved it! Maybe this recipe should be written up again with these changes and called something like "Ultimate Impossible Pie" thanks Krpayne ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Good pie. Tasted on the eggy side. Tried one less egg but still had that taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I love this pie served warm with some whipped cream! My mother made this for me when I was growing up, so it has always been a favorite. She would mix up all the ingredients EXCEPT the coconut in the blender, pour into the pan, then mix in the coconut. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Reading all the reviews prepared me for what to expect...thanks! It was like a coconut flavored egg custard. We enjoyed the taste, but would not make it for a special occasion...a good, quick, just-because dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roebling, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I read all the other reviews first, and made a couple changes. I only used 3 eggs instead of 4, and it still tasted "eggy" but in a good way. I also added an extra 1/2 tsp of vanilla. The pie does form it's own crust on the top and the bottom, but the bottom crust is thiner and soggy due to the custardy filling that's created. The flavor was good...not overly sweet, but I think it needs a thicker consistency. If I were to make it again, I think I'd add more bisquick because the pie was barely an inch thick. With one or two more changes I think it would be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Very quick and easy! Took it to our family Thanksgiving dinner and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
A very easy pie that taste good, but I would not use it for a special meal. It is not fancy enough for holidays; I think the appearance and texture are more suited for every day. I do agree with one review about the egg taste although it wasn't bad! When I make this pie again, I am going to try and use one less egg, an additional 1/4 cup of baking mix, an additional 1/4 cup milk, and an additional tsp of vanilla. Hopefully this will help the texture be more smooth not so "eggy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Really like it! Quick and easy was best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Richton, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
We really liked the pie, but the "makes its own crust" part is misleading. It does form a biscuity, coconutty crust on the TOP of the pie, but nothing on the bottom. Still, it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States