Amazing Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent! I hate to admit it but I had low expectations for this recipe. I don't mind saying I was wrong. I didn't use a blender as suggested by the other reviewers, but whisked the batter very well, also I used pancake mix in lieu of the baking mix. My husband and I loved it. This will be a go to recipe when I want a great dessert that is easy to prepare. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I have been making this pie for years and my family loves it. One slight change in the ingredients is the butter should be melted not softened. Also, for those who had a problem getting a crust -- my recipe calls for all the ingredients to be put into a blender and blended on "high" for a minute. I have always had a nice bottom crust and the blender may have something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I've had this recipe for years but we call it custard coconut pie. You need to make sure that you mix it well together so that it will form the crust at the bottom. It's a soft crust on the bottom not like a regular pie crust that you roll out. Yes, it's eggy but that's custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
someone needs to rename it to...Amazing Coconut Breakfast Pie .... "This pie is easy to prepare and it makes its own crust." But It is not what you think of when you say pie...It is more like an coconut egg omelet. It is very good but It is not something you would serve to guess as come on over for ...pie and Coffee... But it would be a great breakfast or brunch.... Served with cut fruit and cream cheese bagels.... Or breakfast night supper... With a nice fruit salad.... this was really good... JUST DON'T THINK PIE.... LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIGI70056

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I have made this many, many times. I add the coconut at the end and just pulse to mix, pour in the buttered pan, then add another cup of coconut on top. That way there's plenty of coconut throughout the pie (preventing that eggy-ness) and it also gets a boost of flavor from the deeply browned top crust of nicely toasted coconut. I have also recently started using gluten free pancake mix instead of Bisquick with no problems. p.s. BUTTER makes a difference in the pan for browning on the bottom. I use pyrex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Yum! A simple tasty week night dessert. My daughter and I made this and the entire family fought over the last piece.It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is an awesome quick little pie that couldn't be easier. My husband loves it! We put toasted coconut on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States