Amazing Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I've never reviewed a recipe although I have used and enjoyed many from this site. I felt compelled to make an exception for this one because it had so few reviews. This is just awesome and much better than store bought sauce. I only had plain chili sauce so I added a smidge of garlic powder. It had just the right amount of kick for me but was to hot for my mother (but she thinks mild salsa is a bit too hot!). You won't be disappointed with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather L Mercier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Forgot to pick up cocktail sauce for a party, so in a panic found this recipe. It's just as good if not better than the jar. Only thing I changed after tasting it, was to add a sprinkle of garlic powder. Also I didn't have chili sauce so I just added some chili powder to the catsup and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Nice and hot! I didn't have chili-garlic sauce, so I just added some minced garlic. Perfect for shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The perfect shrimp cocktail! Way better than the jar. I also didn't have the chili-garlic sauce so I just added a clove of garlic. Really good... I won't be buying my shrimp cocktail sauce anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Delicious! Taste & texture just like in the restaurant. For the chile-garlic sauce, I used LaChoy Ginger Garlic paste (because it was what I had on hand) & it was perfect! I think it gave it a very subtle exotic flare. My husband said "this is awesome!" and that's high praise for him. I made this to go along with perch, fresh from the Adirondacks. So, I think this would nicely accompany any fish. It was also great for dipping french fries in. Definitely won't ever buy prepared again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnammonngirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Fantastic! We are Americans living in the UK for the next year and they use mayo in EVERYTHING including their shrimp sauce.... When we couldn't find red shrimp sauce anywhere, I decided to make it myself. My husband raves about it and says when we return to the states we will never resort to store bought sauce again. Super easy and very tasty! Added some tabasco since we like the flavor in our shrimp sauce and used to add it back home, but aside from that followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I use a simular recipe without the ketchup. One bottle of chili sauce, lemon juice, garlic powder, and horseradish to taste. Much better than ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
THIS is the cocktails sauce dreams are made of...ha ha...Thank you this is amazing, as it...no changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel-Honey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Now this cocktail sauce was GOOD! Just what I was looking for! I was a little leery to try this without any reviews but I am so glad I did! Excellent, thank you all recipes! And no added sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I love this and made it exactly like recipe said the first time. THEN I added a double dose of horseradish and like it even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States