Amazing Calavacita and Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This is a great recipe. Both my picky husband and kids loved it. I used pork chops instead of pork roast and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I liked this pretty well. Hubby not so much. His Mama used to add jalapenos and crumbled up Queso Fresco Mexican cheese. I used chicken bouillon instead of the Worcestershire sauce. To those who think its bland, you might need to add more salt n pepper:)If its too Mushy, don't cook it as long! I just got another batch of zucchini so I might give this a go again. Thanks CThompson76.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This dish was good. A little to soupy, I just dumped out some of the liquid. I didn't have worchestire, so I used soy sauce and it was still good. Served in tortillas. Everyone ate it all. I had NO leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMLKOVE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I read the reviews while I made it and added a few tablespoons of tomato paste at the end to thicken the juices left behind. I also added about 2 tablespoons of garlic as well. I love the freshness it had. A great light meal that I’ll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Recipe was ok. I did think it would be too bland and added some garlic powder, fajita seasoning and some potatoes. I found the zucchini did go a bit mushy so I think i may cook it a little less. I did cook the poatoes with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Really good recipe. I followed it to the T, and it became a bit juicy, but that can just be poured off before serving. My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
We followed the directions ALMOST to a T - my husband made the observation that depending on the size/depth of pan you're using, the amount of water you use "to cover" the ingredients could be VASTLY different. We halved all of the ingredients, so per another reviewer's suggestion, I used 1/2 a cup of water - it was too much, and never cooked off or absorbed all the way. I thought I was generous with the seasoning, as we do with most things we cook, but I still found it a little bland. We might make this again, and next time use tomato sauce as another reviewer suggested in addition to the base ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Not bad. I thought it was kind of bland and watery, so I'm not sure I'll make it again, but it was all right for trying something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I've been making this dish for years, but with a few adjustments. I use pork chops with the bone and cut into cubes. I cut around the bone and add to the dish for flavor, fry the zucchini a little with the chops, so it is not so mushy. I do not use worchestershire, I use garlic salt, 8 oz of tomato sauce and a tomato flavored bouillion cube. Try with these adjustments and I hope you will be much happier, this really is a great dish and a great way for the little ones to eat zucchini too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States