Amazing Calavacita and Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I personally would remove the olive oil and replace it with a tbsp of canola oil and the Worcestershire sauce replace it with 2 tbsp of beef bouillon. reduce water to 1 cup of water since this meal is supposed to be wet but not soupy and I would add garlic powder and a tomato finely chopped. That is how my mom makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This was terrible. The zucchini was mushy, and it had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
We followed the directions ALMOST to a T - my husband made the observation that depending on the size/depth of pan you're using, the amount of water you use "to cover" the ingredients could be VASTLY different. We halved all of the ingredients, so per another reviewer's suggestion, I used 1/2 a cup of water - it was too much, and never cooked off or absorbed all the way. I thought I was generous with the seasoning, as we do with most things we cook, but I still found it a little bland. We might make this again, and next time use tomato sauce as another reviewer suggested in addition to the base ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Not bad. I thought it was kind of bland and watery, so I'm not sure I'll make it again, but it was all right for trying something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
To keep the calabicitas from going mushie cook in layers. Meat on the bottom to simmer in the juices, and the vegetables on top and then mixed in with the meat the last 5 mins of cooking. Also use less water. I would also use a broth instead of water for better flavour. I am not a fan of whorchester so I rubbed the meat with chili powder. and simmered the meat with garlic, onion, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This dish was good. A little to soupy, I just dumped out some of the liquid. I didn't have worchestire, so I used soy sauce and it was still good. Served in tortillas. Everyone ate it all. I had NO leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMLKOVE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I'd give this recipe 3-stars if I ever thought I would make it again. The family thought it was boring. I thought the Zucchini was wayyyy over cooked and the dish was swimming in water! It tasted just okay. I felt like I was eating leftovers and could not get over that actually purchased groceries for this. Overall it was edible, just not repeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I've been making this dish for years, but with a few adjustments. I use pork chops with the bone and cut into cubes. I cut around the bone and add to the dish for flavor, fry the zucchini a little with the chops, so it is not so mushy. I do not use worchestershire, I use garlic salt, 8 oz of tomato sauce and a tomato flavored bouillion cube. Try with these adjustments and I hope you will be much happier, this really is a great dish and a great way for the little ones to eat zucchini too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Really good recipe. I followed it to the T, and it became a bit juicy, but that can just be poured off before serving. My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States