Amazing Calavacita and Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This is a great recipe. Both my picky husband and kids loved it. I used pork chops instead of pork roast and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Really good recipe. I followed it to the T, and it became a bit juicy, but that can just be poured off before serving. My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Not bad. I thought it was kind of bland and watery, so I'm not sure I'll make it again, but it was all right for trying something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Recipe was ok. I did think it would be too bland and added some garlic powder, fajita seasoning and some potatoes. I found the zucchini did go a bit mushy so I think i may cook it a little less. I did cook the poatoes with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I'd give this recipe 3-stars if I ever thought I would make it again. The family thought it was boring. I thought the Zucchini was wayyyy overcooked and the dish was swimming in water! It tasted just okay. I felt like I was eating leftovers and could not get over that I actually purchased groceries for this. Overall it was edible, just not repeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This was terrible. The zucchini was mushy, and it had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I personally would remove the olive oil and replace it with a tbsp of canola oil and the Worcestershire sauce replace it with 2 tbsp of beef bouillon. reduce water to 1 cup of water since this meal is supposed to be wet but not soupy and I would add garlic powder and a tomato finely chopped. That is how my mom makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This dish was good. A little to soupy, I just dumped out some of the liquid. I didn't have worchestire, so I used soy sauce and it was still good. Served in tortillas. Everyone ate it all. I had NO leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMLKOVE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I've been making this dish for years, but with a few adjustments. I use pork chops with the bone and cut into cubes. I cut around the bone and add to the dish for flavor, fry the zucchini a little with the chops, so it is not so mushy. I do not use worchestershire, I use garlic salt, 8 oz of tomato sauce and a tomato flavored bouillion cube. Try with these adjustments and I hope you will be much happier, this really is a great dish and a great way for the little ones to eat zucchini too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States