Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was pretty good. I expected it to be sweeter than it was. I used vanilla yogurt instead of mayo for more sweetness and less calories. I think next time I would omit the onions and add more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I just microwave cut in half squash, in a glass pie plate with a little water, till tender. Then scoop out of skin. Followed recipe exactly. This is a great side dish, not too sweet and a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
After trying too many butternut squash recipes that taste more like desserts than vegetables, this one is a winner. It has a fluffy texture with a nice savory flavor. I only used 1/4 cup mayo, but I'd adjust based on the size of your squash. I also finely minced the onion and used seasoned bread crumbs instead of saltines, which I didn't have. I recommend using freshly grated cheese. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
i was looking for an easy recipe that used items i already had in the house. this was the one for me. the only exchange i made was crushed cheese-its for the topping in place of the saltine crackers (because i didnt have those in the house). i also doubled (maybe even quadrupled) the topping. my family loved it, i loved it, and i gladly ate the leftovers twice! thanks for sharing this recipe. i will use it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I bought some butternut squash and was not sure how best to prepare besides my same old roasted with butter and brown sugar. This recipe was IT! Amazing flavor and so easy. I doubled the topping as some others suggested and that is was makes this dish great! Will most definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I love butternut squash, but the flavor was so strange. Never ever ever making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a7x-angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is one of my Favs! The only change I make is instead of the topping the recipe calls for, I lightly crush up some French Fried Onions and toss in some panko bread crumbs and a pinch of garlic powder. I just do it to taste, so I don't have measurements. Still use the butter and cheese too (but just a little cheese.)I make about 3/4 cup topping (I like it crispy on top.) Oh, and I use Miracle Whip instead of Mayo for the tang. Works out great IMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Reading through the reviews I just couldn't get a feel for how this squash tastes. Sweet? Savory? Honestly i didn't find it to be either. It was just kind of...blah... I made it exactly according to the recipe except I used pretzels for the topping because I didn't have saltines. Not my best decision. My Dad is a squash fan and really liked it, I am not a huge squash fan and this didn't change my feelings about it. We both agreed we have had better. I wish my criticism could be more constructive other than to say it wasn't sweet enough to be good, or savory enough to be good. Having now made this, I would make it again by following another user's idea of exchanging vanilla yogurt for the mayo and using graham crackers for the topping. I think this would make it just sweet enough to bring out the flavor of the squash without making it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I used this recipe for my first time making butternut squash and it was a HIT! I quickly realized that I didn't have a very large squash, so I ended up filling 2 medium sized ramekins - 1 for me and 1 for my fiance. I followed the recipe almost exactly - I cut down on the mayo a bit, doubled the topping, and used panko instead of saltines. The topping did get a bit brown (I kept it in for 35 minutes). But we don't mind it a little crunchy like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrey Leon
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was pretty good. I'm sure others might find the flavor combination a hit and interesting. I added brown sugar to it when I was eating the dish, which helped it for me. Also, perhaps doubling the cracker mix so that it covered more of the surface might have helped, then I might not have needed the extra brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Leon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States