Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I have never eaten butternut squash before, so this was my first time to cook it. I followed the recipe but doubled the topping as other reviewers suggested. I liked the squash but did not like the topping. The parmesan cheese overpowered the taste of the squash. I may make this again but without the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My family had never tried butternut squash before and we loved this recipe. I made several substitutions and it was fabulous. I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo, slightly reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 tsp, used grape nuts cereal on top instead of saltines (healthier and tastes better) and I added 1 minced garlic clove and a pinch of red pepper flake to give it some extra "oomph". This dish will definately be on my Thanksgiving table this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White House, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This dish was so easy, and very delicious. I doubled the topping and used Ritz crackers, because that is what I had. I also used the vanilla yogurt suggestion, I do think the mayo would be great too, give it a nice richer flavor. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My family and I LOVED this recipe. I knew nothing about butternut squash but found this recipe and decided to give it a try. Sending a big thank you to the reviewer who suggested quartering the squash, boiling until soft, and then scooping the soft cooked squash away from the peeling. This was a life saver, I could never have peeled the hard raw squash, it was all I could do to just get it cut into quarters. But it was worth the trouble. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I'm not crazy about squash, but it's inexpensive and nutritious so I always cook it throughout the winter. I made this recipe exactly as directed. This was dynamite! Don't think I'll ever cook squash any other way again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
this was pretty good and there are about a billion different ways to make it your own and just the way your family likes it, but to make peeling even easier do this: Slice the squash in half lengthwise and place cut side down on a parchment paper lined baking dish, drizzle with a little olive oil and bake for about 45 minutes at 350 or until tender when pierced with a knife. Allow to cool slightly and its easy to peel and slice or cube. Can also be done in the microwave but add about 1/4 cup water to pan before microcooking for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I really liked this dish. It was creamy and flavorful. I actually cut the squash into quarters and boiled it with the skin on and then scooped out the flesh into a bowl. I was weary using Mayonaise because I thought it wouldn't taste good but it did. I would also recommend using way less mayo than recommended, maybe a 1/4 cup, depending on the size of the squash? I would like to have tried heavy cream instead, seems like a good substitute. I also added fresh shredded parmesan instead of grated and used more of it and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Yummy, yummy! Just made this for a ladies cooking club and we all loved it - even those who weren't butternut squash fans. I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Just made this , and boy was it delicious! I would stick with this recipe because it does not need any adjustments or changes! We ate the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States