Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Loved this. It isn't easy to find a butternut squash recipe that is savory. This one is really nice. The onion and parmesan cheese give it a great rich flavor, and best of all, it doesn't taste like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashleybpink
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was great! After I made it my boyfriend and roommate could not get enough! I, like others, substituted mayo for yogurt and caramelized the onions and doubled the topping portions. I also suggest doubling the recipe because everyone will want seconds! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleybpink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was delicious! Just made a couple changes for my diabetic husband. I sweetened with stevia to taste instead of brown sugar. Also used wholewheat bread crumbs for topping instead of saltine crackers and doubled amount. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Very accurate title. This recipe is Amazing. My wife hated butternut squash until I made this recipe. No changes necessary. This recipe is delicious just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serving1Lord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I'm going to simplify this, according to what I have done with it, almost by accident. I microwaved the 1 to 1 1/2 lb squash for about 10 -12 minutes, until soft enough to scoop away from the peel. I added 1/4 cup of butter-type margerine, 1 tsp of salt, 1 generous tsp of black pepper, 1 generous tsp of garlic powder, and a generous tblsp of dark brown sugar. I mashed and mixed this all thoroughly, and served it alongside some really good roast chicken, on the plate. The flavor and taste of the squash was delightful! I have eaten lots of butternut, but never any that was more delicious than this. Maybe I lucked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I am dieting, and this is a perfect side dish - instead of mashed taters or mac and cheese. I did as some others suggested and added more onions and grilled them. I also had some leftover sweet potato and added that into the mix. A very good recipe that I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Had never cooked with butternut squash before and this was a great casserole! A really nice fall dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
it was pretty good. i would spread into a bigger dish and add more cunchies on top , i like the cheesy cracker taste but the squash is good to. onions work well in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is awesome just the way it is. This is a nice change to the sweet recipes I am use to. I will definitely be making this again maybe try some of the modification other people suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is great!! I don't know what the other people meant to leave the onion out..... Onion goes with everything! Everyone went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States