Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
So sorry for a low rating but we just didn't like this. Butternut is my favorite squash and this wasn't a recipe for us. I omitted onion and used less mayo as others stated and used 1 cup crackers and 6 T parmesan. I do have an easier way to peel butternut squash for all you lovers out there. Wash and pat dry your squash. Take a fork and pierce the skin many times all around. Place in microwave and nuke for 8 to 10 minutes. Depending on size. Remove using a pot holder because it will be extremely hot. Let cool a few minutes before peeling, it's easier to slice too, it works great! Then procede with whatever recipe your making. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
The recipe is a good start but needs some modifications. I did the following: 1. Don't add the onions. They don't fit in this recipe. 2. Replace the mayonnaise with vanilla yogurt and make it slightly less than 1/2 cup. You could also add a teaspoon of vanilla extract. 3. Replace the saltine crackers with Graham crackers The result is a sweet, vanilla flavored dish that lets the natural butternut squash flavor come through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
My family absolutely detests squash, but I love it, AND it's good for you.. so here I went, and tried yet another squash recipe.. *you should have seen the look in my husbands eyes*... and to top it off I didn't realize that the friends we had over for dinner also disliked squash.. well.. they all tried it just to please me... and they LOVED IT! I didn't use the FULL amount of mayo, just cause someone said they thought it was too much.. but OH MY! yummy! Nice for haters and lovers of squash.. definately a winner! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Wow, this is great! i used vanilla yogurt instead of mayo as another reviewer suggested, and bread crumbs instead of the crackers. I also did double the topping and saute the onions in a bit of butter before, but everything else just as is. My roommate can't stop eating it! I seriously think she ate half of the dish! A great way to use up butternut. oh, and i did bake the squash in halves in 350 degree oven for 1 hour before, scooped it out, and beat everything together with a hand-held mixer to combine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year in order to use up a couple of butternut squash I had laying around. I used non-fat plain yogurt instead of the mayo and made lots and lots of topping! It was a hit! Everyone loved it and scraped the bowl clean! It even traveled the 60+ miles and reheated well. Definately a keeper! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brookeland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
I also halved the mayonnaise and doubled the cracker & cheese mix. The reviews are right - peeling the squash after boiling is a LOT easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This recipe is excellent. Very tasty and easy to make. I made it exactly as suggested, and wouldn't change anything the next time I make it. The ingredients aren't typical, but really add to the squash, and make a great complimentary side dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
We all really enjoyed this recipe. I used vanilla yogurt in place of the mayo, and cooked the 1/2 cup of onions a little before adding. And of course I added more crunchy topping as everyone suggested. We'll definitely try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
FANTASTIC!! I have served this twice to guests and several times to family and everybody loves it! I have added more crackers and parmesan to the topping but other than that the recipe is perfect! I have passed this recipe on to all my friends. Tony, 24, Scotland, UK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
This was delicious! My first experience with butternut squash. It was a chore to make...you need a sharp knife to cut the squash into pieces, then it's a pain to peel (I peeled it after I cooked it, which made it easier). Worth the effort, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States