Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I peel the squash using a regular vegetable peeler... it works quite well. I thought this recipee was great but I also love butternut just plain roasted. I cube it, toss with some olive oil, S&P, and sage... Takes about 40 minutes at 400 degrees. You can add other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This dish was delicious. I didn't have enough mayonaise so I used half the mayo and the other half garden vegetable cream cheese. I also used ritz crackers instead of saltines. It reminded me of cottage potatoes, one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Very good! Used the squash from my garden, and happy to find a new recipe to use them in! Although; I added a touch of fresh grated nutmeg, substitued light sour cream (1/4 c) for mayo, and used panko (instead of crackers) for a "classier" crunch and taste. This excellent side worked very well with our favorite pork tenderloin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
FYI If you have trouble cutting up the squash, just cut it in half, scoop out the seeds, place in glass baking dish, cover with plastic wrap, and microwave 5 or 6 minutes or until tender. Then you can just scoop the flesh out of the shell and use as directed in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate20255

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Wonderful dish, I have a abundant crop this year and needed a new recipe this is one I will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
OUT OF THIS WORLD! The people who gave it a bad rating obviously did something wrong. This was to die for and I will be making again. and again. and again. I didn't change a thing other than I used light mayo, I sauteed the onions beforehand like most others say to do, I added a little garlic powder and I used Keebler butter crackers (not saltines). I also added pank crumbs with some basil and oregano. Next time I will use Greek Yogurt in lieu of the mayo to be healthier! SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowthersamyk
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Really good! Used sour cream instead of mayo cause that's what I had. I doubled the topping. If you want a complete crust over the top, double the topping. I would have been fine with it as written. I also used shredded Parmesan, not the powered shaker cheese. And I cooked the onions first. My two and three year old toddlers ate it and asked for more. So, five stars from us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
It was good, but I like squash just fine on it's own: cooked with a little butter and salt better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Amazing it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
WE couldnt get enough!! I actually made a mistake and mixed the butted crackers and cheese in with the squash so i crumbled more crackers w butter and cheese and put it on top.. and they came out great! I would recommend this recipe to everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States