Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
During the last month, I've made this recipe twice for guests and both times, I was asked for the recipe. We liked that it was more savory than sweet. I made it with a little less onion (maybe 1/3 cup) and used whole wheat crackers instead of saltines. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
It was just wonderful... I made it twice to rave reviews from picky eaters. Does anyone know if you can freeze it......thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Ann West

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Wonderful! I left squash in chunks and added some mustard powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Totally failed to see what all the hoopla was about this recipe. The only positive was that it was a different way to serve butternut squash. Using raw onion was a huge mistake...the whole dish tasked like onions. The only change I made was I used nonfat plain greek yogurt instead of mayo and it didn't change the taste at all. Overall, this was disappointing. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Fantastic!!! I have never been a butternut squash fan but this is great!! I opted to use crushed Ritz crackers for the topping and it was great. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Sauteed the onions and used panko breadcrumbs instead of saltines. Was definitely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
We all loved this, but I will definately halve the mayonnais when I make it for TG. The onions were a great added flavor and I put more in then it called for. I used Ritz as I didn't have any saltines and it was a great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have made this several times and just love it. I cut the onions small and carmelize them. We also throw some of the parmesan in with the squash. I've learned to kind of go by eye with the mayo and egg depending on how much squash I have and sometimes it is waterier than others. Makes the house smell so good. I also use ritzs for the topping and double it at least depending on the dish I am using. I typically cook the squash most of the way with out the topping, that way if it is too loose I don't have to worry about the topping getting too dark. I cut parchment paper and press right on top of the squash. Once it is done to where it is pretty firm I remove the parchment and add the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was really good. My husband liked it alot, and he doesn't like squash. A great side dish, and pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Meh. Maybe cooking the onions first or using less of them would help, but when made as directed we thought the onions really overpowered the squash. Adding more topping might help, but that too would kill the flavor of the squash. No wonder people have said, "My family that usually hates squash loved this." The squash flavor is, pardon the pun, squashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States