Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Wonderful! I left squash in chunks and added some mustard powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Totally failed to see what all the hoopla was about this recipe. The only positive was that it was a different way to serve butternut squash. Using raw onion was a huge mistake...the whole dish tasked like onions. The only change I made was I used nonfat plain greek yogurt instead of mayo and it didn't change the taste at all. Overall, this was disappointing. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Fantastic!!! I have never been a butternut squash fan but this is great!! I opted to use crushed Ritz crackers for the topping and it was great. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Sauteed the onions and used panko breadcrumbs instead of saltines. Was definitely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
We all loved this, but I will definately halve the mayonnais when I make it for TG. The onions were a great added flavor and I put more in then it called for. I used Ritz as I didn't have any saltines and it was a great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have made this several times and just love it. I cut the onions small and carmelize them. We also throw some of the parmesan in with the squash. I've learned to kind of go by eye with the mayo and egg depending on how much squash I have and sometimes it is waterier than others. Makes the house smell so good. I also use ritzs for the topping and double it at least depending on the dish I am using. I typically cook the squash most of the way with out the topping, that way if it is too loose I don't have to worry about the topping getting too dark. I cut parchment paper and press right on top of the squash. Once it is done to where it is pretty firm I remove the parchment and add the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was really good. My husband liked it alot, and he doesn't like squash. A great side dish, and pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Meh. Maybe cooking the onions first or using less of them would help, but when made as directed we thought the onions really overpowered the squash. Adding more topping might help, but that too would kill the flavor of the squash. No wonder people have said, "My family that usually hates squash loved this." The squash flavor is, pardon the pun, squashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Really is Amazing! I doubled the topping and used 1/3 c of light mayo. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made it a couple weeks ago an we loved it, so I'm making it again tonight..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States