Amazing Banana Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Being tired of banana breads, cookies and muffins I decided to try this recipe. I used 3/4 cup of leftover heavy sugar syrup to which lemon juice had been added during cooking (2cups sugar, 1 cup water & 1/4 cup lemon juice). I then processed the bananas and the syrup briefly in food processor until smooth, poured into a tupperware container, froze for a few hours, mashed with a fork and froze again. Hubby, who's not too fond of banana concoctions, asked for second and third helpings. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This recipe needs an easy fix to be 5 stars. Use 3 cups of water and yellow food coloring. I made it according to the recipe and froze it overnight. The next day it was a gooey heavy frozen banana. I had nothing to lose so I added 2 more cups of water, yellow food coloring and mixed it in a food processor. Within 2 hours of refreezing it was a yummy banana sorbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Didn't really care for it...way too sweet & the whole thing turned dark well before it even froze. Maybe some lemon juice would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this for my son who can't eat dairy. I baked my bananas first for 20 minutes at 400 degrees F which prevents them from browning. It was very sweet, but for my son it was perfect. I added chocolate chips for him as a little treat. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This recipe is really easy - you do need to use much less sugar though. I used 1/2C, next time I will try 1/4C. I also added a splash of lemon juice to both the syrup and mashed banana to retain the color. Overall, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Good recipe-- and quick. Here's an even quicker variation: use the same ingredients and measurements. Put sugar and banana in blender workbowl and blend until sugar dissolved. Add ice water and pulse to mix. Put cold mixture in freezer bowl of electric ice cream maker and allow to turn and freeze. My ice cream maker took about 25 minutes to produce ready-to-eat sherbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Due to the reviews I cut back the sugar a bit. I also added a pinch each of cinnamon & nutmeg, an additional banana a dash of cocoa & a splash of milk. It came out beautifully. Next time I'm going to add some strawberries just to see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
This is a very unappetizing dish to look at! Unless of course you like different color browns for dessert! Too sweet also as another reviewer noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
i used reduced fat evaporated milk and some fat free sterilized milk instead of water - to cream it up - it was delicious - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Sorbets are easy, but this one as are many, was over sweet. Use less sugar (to your taste), lemon juice to keep the natural color, and some vanilla to keep the sorbet from freezing too hard, it should be slightly soft even when completely set. FYI, for those of you adding milk, you no longer have a sorbet, it is now sherbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States