Amazing Banana Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This tastes really good, however, I did follow the advice of Shorecook and used 3 cups of water instead of just 1 and the yellow food coloring (I got a bit carried away with it but thats okay) When I mixed it my youngest son had to have a bowl and he scarfed it down. I'm waiting for it to re-freeze so I can scoop mine out =)) A unique simple idea for over ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I followed the comment of using three cups of water and adding yellow food coloring. That made it work real well. I just kept refreezing and remixing with beaters until it met my consistency. It doesn't look like a creamy sorbet like in the pictures but I thought it was still real good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this for my son who can't eat dairy. I baked my bananas first for 20 minutes at 400 degrees F which prevents them from browning. It was very sweet, but for my son it was perfect. I added chocolate chips for him as a little treat. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This was tasty, just tastes like yummy sweet banana . Nice for the kids but might need jazzing up for adults. I would be tempted to add coconut milk or maple syrup for a more complex flavour. On a technical note, leave your banana mashing til last to minimise blackening and add yellow food colouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This recipe needs an easy fix to be 5 stars. Use 3 cups of water and yellow food coloring. I made it according to the recipe and froze it overnight. The next day it was a gooey heavy frozen banana. I had nothing to lose so I added 2 more cups of water, yellow food coloring and mixed it in a food processor. Within 2 hours of refreezing it was a yummy banana sorbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Well I decided to give the original ingredients a try since I do like extreme sweets. I couldn't take the sweetness though - WAY too sweet in my opinion. After I finished the recipe I pulled it out and added more water (1/2 cup) and mixed well. I put it back in the freezer to set. It still came out too sweet. Maybe I will give it another try as others have by using less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Good recipe-- and quick. Here's an even quicker variation: use the same ingredients and measurements. Put sugar and banana in blender workbowl and blend until sugar dissolved. Add ice water and pulse to mix. Put cold mixture in freezer bowl of electric ice cream maker and allow to turn and freeze. My ice cream maker took about 25 minutes to produce ready-to-eat sherbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This recipe is really easy - you do need to use much less sugar though. I used 1/2C, next time I will try 1/4C. I also added a splash of lemon juice to both the syrup and mashed banana to retain the color. Overall, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My family won't eat bananas once they are two hours past ripe! So, I've been looking for recipes that call for ripe bananas. This tasted pretty good, but I wouldn't call it sorbet. It did not have the lightness that comes with sorbet. It was more like frozen sweetened mashed bananas. I did cut back to 3/4 cup sugar based upon others' recommendations. So, it didn't taste too sweet. But, we all concluded that we'd rather just eat a banana, or even a frozen banana. Perhaps it would be more sorbet like if you let chunks of banana flavor the syrup, then strain out half of the banana before mixing and freezing? Sorry. I really wanted to like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
very sweet, put less sugar and add frozen fruits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States