Amazing Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I baked ours, with the exception of cholesterol, I think I've managed to make this MUCH healthier :) First, I par-baked TURKEY bacon in half-slices. This reduces both sodium AND fat and left the bacon pliable enough to wrap. Then, I cleaned & roasted 10 FRESH jalapenos in a drizzle of olive oil & a pinch of sea salt for about 10 minutes. Again, a reduction of sodium AND leaving nutrition in the pepper. Then, I wrapped about a 1/3 of each jalapeno & a half-slice of bacon around each shrimp & secured with a toothpick. I baked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. In addition, I prepared an "eye-balled" provolone cheese sauce for dipping. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These were very good but we did grill instead of deep-fry ours. The tastes were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
My husband and I have friends that own a very reputed Chinese restaurant (they come from China, actually) that we love going to. They serve this there and I've been trying to get the recipe for ages. Now, I'll finally be able to make this at home. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
amazing, but for the stuffing I sliced fresh jalepenos and sateed them in butter with crushed garlic and chopped onions with some jamacian jerk seasoning. The jalepenos tasted really good on their own and the excess made a good topper for the shrimp to enhance presentation. :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was a phenomenal recipe!!!!!! I made a couple changes because me and my family are lovers of spice. When I halved the jalepenos i left the seeds and membranes to really have some flavor. However these are very hard to keep togetehr when turning over on the grill. next time I may bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelique Santiago
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
this is the best recipe like this that i have come across for bacon shrimp so easy so quick so dang delious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These were great. I used fresh jalapeno slivered b/c thats what i had and I fried them on the grill in an aluminum pan with hot oil in it. I will be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I first encountered this recipe at the Cadillac Bar and Grill in San Francisco. The place is now eradicated to make room for a parking garage for the Moscone Center. They had a sister restaurant in the Wiltern building in LA for a while, but thats gone too. We regularly make this appetizer to this day. They grilled the shrimp, on skewers, over mesquite. I consider the mesquite flavor an essential part of this dish. And don't use a "sliver" of jalapeno. Use a as big a slice as the shrimp will accommodate. Serve with a bowl of melted garlic butter for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Make a lot, they go quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These are wonderful little party treats. We really liked them, but be careful not to put too much of the jalapeno in the shrimp - they can get HOT! Thanks for sharing :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States