Amazing Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Maybe I cooked this wrong.... canned asparagus is awful compared to fresh. Umm the bread was too soggy and all in all it tasted like a bad goulash.. I might try again considering it had potential. Next time I will use fresh almost all the way cooked asparagus, use french fried onions mixed with butter on top instead of bread. Omit water chestnuts and add maybe zucchini or snap peas. And put cream of broccoli or cream of onion. But thats IF I make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vennettes_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I think this recipe would be better without the buttered bread crust as a topping. Letting the parmesan and cheddar brown and crust might be really good. My wife really enjoyed seeing water chestnuts in a warm food for a change, they added a nice texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was pretty good, but it needs "something" to really take it over the top. I used fresh asparagus and frozen peas to avoid them becoming complete mush during the baking process and this worked perfectly. I also subbed cream of celery soup instead of cream of mushroom, because we don't care for the flavor of canned C.O.M. soup. I think some sauteed garlic and onion layered directly on top of the asparagus would have been a big improvement, as well as perhaps a pinch of red pepper flakes. We really enjoyed the crunch added by the water chestnuts and the crunchy, buttery, cheesy bread pieces on top were fantastic. I followed a couple other reviewers' suggestions and cut the asparagus into 2-inch pieces and cut the bread into 1x2-inch strips to make it easier to scoop everything out onto our plates. I'm sure we'll have this again, with the addition of some onion and garlic and possibly using cream of chicken soup next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My husbands family has been making "asparagus casserole" for years. Their version uses shredded american cheese, 1 1/2 cups crushed Club crackers, 1/2 cup of butter and no parmesan. It's my favorite holiday dish and I don't even like canned asparagus. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
It's awesome, I used fresh and cut some fat with the following: Ingredients 1 pound of fresh, cut up asparagus or 1 (15 ounce) can asparagus, drained and cut up 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup 1 sm. can mushrooms 1/4 C dried onions or 1/2 C fresh onions chopped 1 cups shredded Cheddar cheese or what ever cheese you have on hand....I had pizza cheese 1/2 stick butter melted 8 oz. cubbed bread - I used about 4 stale hamburg buns 1/2 teaspoon pepper Directions Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray pan with oil. Layer asparagus in the bottom of a medium baking dish. Top with drained mushrooms and cream of mushroom soup. Add pepper and stir. Melt butter in a microwave safe large bowl for a minute or less. Slice bread into 1/4 to 1/2 inch cubes, and toss in the butter. When butter has been absorbed, layer bread in the baking dish on top of the veggies. Sprinkle with cheese. Bake in the preheated oven 35 minutes, or until bubbly and golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kimball, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I don't care for asparagus but I live with a bunch of asparagus-lovers so I figured I'd give it a try. I couldn't believe how much I liked this dish! It was great and a super hit at dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
We weren't really sure what to expect with this recipe but we ended up loving it! Not to mention it reheats really well so any leftovers we had since it was cooked for two of us were eaten very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
My husbands side of the family love this even the asparagus haters. It is a nice side dish. I am just not sure if it is worth all the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I made this but made a few changes! First instead of using cream of mushroom I used cream of chicken (dont like mushroooms). I left out the chestnuts. Instead of using bread I used italian and regular bread crumbs, and sprinkled melted butter over bread crumbs. Still used cheese. Over all turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I make this all the time, esp on holidays. But I short-cut this recipe and use pillsbury garlic bread strips, instead. They puff up niceley and make a wonderful crust! AND it's easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States