Amazing Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This is an outstanding apple cake. I have taken it to several affairs and everyone wants the recipe. It is so fast also. My son and daughter have also taken it to church and school events and received many compliments. As parents of young children they have little time for baking and appreciate how fast this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe - all the flavors of fall. Wonderful with a little whipped cream on top. I used an 8"x8" pan (smaller than the pan called for in the recipe), but everything fit - it just needed a slightly longer baking time. I used pecans, instead of walnuts, decreased the oil to 1/4 cup, and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. It was wonderful - really dense and moist, just like a recipe my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
MY BRO-IN-LAW LOVED THIS. HE THINKS I'M THE BOMB! THANKS FOR A GREAT, SIMPLE, AND COMFORTING RECIPE SARAH! AS USUAL, "GODDESS APPROVED" !!! XOXOXOXO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Very nice cake pretty quick to bake and relatively healthy.Wonderful with french vanilla ala mode.Enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I added extra cinnamon as a previous reviewer suggested. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. I recommended blending the mix in a food processor for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
Delicious. As others said, the batter seems dry, but the cake ends up very moist. I only used 2.5 cups of apples and it still tasted great. Kids loved it and asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Followed the recipe but omitted the walnuts. This cake worked out well as a special breakfast treat on Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Conny Fishlock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. The batter is very deceiving in the fact it looks too dry, but it bakes up moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Baldwin, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
My husband said this was just like his mom used to make on Christmas morning. Very moist, dense, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 221BBAKERSTREET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States