Amazing Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
We love this cake! Followed the recipe as written, but used a 9x13 pan, and baked at 350. Topped it with a simple brown sugar glaze. The batter seems very dry at first, but when it cooks, the moisture from the apples makes it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
The batter was dry. I thought there was a wet ingredient missing. I would advice that you mix all the wet together first and then combine. The end procuct was delicious and moist. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This is an outstanding apple cake. I have taken it to several affairs and everyone wants the recipe. It is so fast also. My son and daughter have also taken it to church and school events and received many compliments. As parents of young children they have little time for baking and appreciate how fast this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This cake was not good to me, something was missing; substance. It tasted gooey. Too many apples and cinanmon for my taste buds. Try my recipe for comparison. Jean's Apple Bundt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe - all the flavors of fall. Wonderful with a little whipped cream on top. I used an 8"x8" pan (smaller than the pan called for in the recipe), but everything fit - it just needed a slightly longer baking time. I used pecans, instead of walnuts, decreased the oil to 1/4 cup, and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. It was wonderful - really dense and moist, just like a recipe my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe was pretty good. My husband, not a huge sweets fan, really liked this one. I did make changes, however, so I'm not sure how true the 5 stars are. Rather than refined sugar, I used Turbinado (that's all I use), and rather than vanilla, I used honey (it's all I had!). I chopped up a batch of apples given to me by my neighbors, so I have no idea which type they were, using a baby food maker. This works great b/c you can basically do it in one-cup increments and adjust to your taste. I did have to cook it a bit longer than the recipe calls for (using all 5 1/2 cups of apple, I cooked in a 9x9 for 55 minutes @ 325)but it turned out great. It's dense and *very* moist, like a wet sponge. But the flavor's great, and the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was the best apple cake i have ever had. Everyone loved it and still is talking about it. I did not change a thing it's perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I have been making this cake 2-3 times a month over the past year. I've passed it on to other people who love it as much as I do. Excellent for breakfast or coffee break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Followed the recipe but omitted the walnuts. This cake worked out well as a special breakfast treat on Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
A great cake! I used crab apples from my backyard tree and the cake turned out great. My family prefers more cinnamon with apples so next time I would add 3 teaspoons. The batter did seem quite dry until I mixed in the apples using my hands. After that, the moisture from the apples helped. I would make this again and serve it with Cool Whip. I also used an 8 X 8 pan and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States