Amazing Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
There must be an ingredient missing from the recipe. I had to add milk to thin the batter down. The apples did not cook thoroughly even though I baked it for an additional 10 minutes. It was not moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
The batter was dry. I thought there was a wet ingredient missing. I would advice that you mix all the wet together first and then combine. The end procuct was delicious and moist. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
To make up for the dryness of the batter , I chopped the apples in the food processor , so that they would be a finer dice , but produce more moisture , too . I then use my hands to mix the batter , which releases even more juice from the apples ! Try this - it really worked wonders for this cake . It needs a bit more time in the oven than this recipe states , I also found . Overall though , a good cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
I made this dessert for my Bible Study group and they raved all night about it! Very moist and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This is an outstanding apple cake. I have taken it to several affairs and everyone wants the recipe. It is so fast also. My son and daughter have also taken it to church and school events and received many compliments. As parents of young children they have little time for baking and appreciate how fast this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe - all the flavors of fall. Wonderful with a little whipped cream on top. I used an 8"x8" pan (smaller than the pan called for in the recipe), but everything fit - it just needed a slightly longer baking time. I used pecans, instead of walnuts, decreased the oil to 1/4 cup, and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. It was wonderful - really dense and moist, just like a recipe my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I guess I'm not a huge fan of apple cakes in general; this seemed a bit soggy and was not a huge hit at home. I grated the apples which definitely took care of any moisture problem. I only used a half-recipe because 5.5 cups of grated apples much more than it sounds. Also, grating the apples makes them oxidize all over and after I'd grated about 2 or 3 cups they were turning pretty dark brown, so I had to use them right away. I didn't have any nuts; maybe that was a problem. I did layer sliced apples over the top and sprinkled cinnamon sugar--it helped the presentation a lot. After my boyfriend & his roommates didn't eat this cake, I took it to work and everyone loved it. So I wouldn't say it was bad, just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
MY BRO-IN-LAW LOVED THIS. HE THINKS I'M THE BOMB! THANKS FOR A GREAT, SIMPLE, AND COMFORTING RECIPE SARAH! AS USUAL, "GODDESS APPROVED" !!! XOXOXOXO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Very nice cake pretty quick to bake and relatively healthy.Wonderful with french vanilla ala mode.Enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
A great cake! I used crab apples from my backyard tree and the cake turned out great. My family prefers more cinnamon with apples so next time I would add 3 teaspoons. The batter did seem quite dry until I mixed in the apples using my hands. After that, the moisture from the apples helped. I would make this again and serve it with Cool Whip. I also used an 8 X 8 pan and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States