Amazing Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I searched for an apple cake to use up some apples going bad. I have made this recipe twice so far and my family loves it so much I can’t keep it any longer then desert and breakfast. DOES not need any more moisture. When you mix your ingredients it seems dry until you add the apples. Make as is and mix apples as stated until all are covered and your mixture turns a light tan color. I use a 10” round pan. I wouldn’t use anything smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe was pretty good. My husband, not a huge sweets fan, really liked this one. I did make changes, however, so I'm not sure how true the 5 stars are. Rather than refined sugar, I used Turbinado (that's all I use), and rather than vanilla, I used honey (it's all I had!). I chopped up a batch of apples given to me by my neighbors, so I have no idea which type they were, using a baby food maker. This works great b/c you can basically do it in one-cup increments and adjust to your taste. I did have to cook it a bit longer than the recipe calls for (using all 5 1/2 cups of apple, I cooked in a 9x9 for 55 minutes @ 325)but it turned out great. It's dense and *very* moist, like a wet sponge. But the flavor's great, and the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I made 2 batches of this tonight, one cake, and one I made into apple/bannana muffins. I omitted a cup of the apples and mashed two bannanas in its place... it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This cake was good but I think it had too many apples in it. I had to cook quite a bit longer than the recipe called for. If I make it again, I would put less apples in. But the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I have been making this cake 2-3 times a month over the past year. I've passed it on to other people who love it as much as I do. Excellent for breakfast or coffee break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
We love this cake! Followed the recipe as written, but used a 9x13 pan, and baked at 350. Topped it with a simple brown sugar glaze. The batter seems very dry at first, but when it cooks, the moisture from the apples makes it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Ummmm... not sure what happened with this recipe, very disappointed. When combining the ingredients it seemed like there were way too many apples for the amount of dry ingredients. Cooked it a warm piece right out of the oven was good but later that night and the next day it was a gooey, soft, mushy cake Yuck. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I have been cooking for 20+ years. I say this only because this review is from an experienced cook. This receipe was a disaster. I cooked it for 25 minutes more than the recommended time and it was a gooey, mushy, mess. I followed the directions exactly so I have no idea why my cake came out so differently than everyone elses. How could I improve it? I have no idea. But for starters, too many apples for a 9 X 9 pan, too much cinnamon, too little flour? I wish I would have gotten the same results as everyone else but I didn't. Good luck with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very good recipe if you like a strong cinnamon taste (which we do). I chopped up 4 small apples and that seemed to do the job. I was lazy to measure the apples but 5 c. + seemed a lot to me. Moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Oh my goodness!!! This cake is AWESOME!!! My husband and daughter enjoyed chopping all the apples. The cake is super moist, very tasty and just awesome! We have made several cakes in just a short time and will make many more. A family favorite in our home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States