Amazing Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I really don´t understand people who said this wasn´t a great cake or didn´t care....whaaaaaaat?, it´s absolutely AWESOME, sweet enough, moist, so yummy! and if you add a bit of nutmeg and raisins will be even better. Yes the batter is dry, but it turns out great. I´m not in the US, I´m writing from Peru, Cusco, so this recipe works everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Tried it and this is the best apple cake recipe i have tried so far. Batter looks too dry but the cake came out to be perfect and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Excellent cake. I made it as stated except I used only one teaspoon cinnamon. It really needed the extra teaspoon. I found the batter to be very stiff, so I added about 3/4 cup apple juice. This recipe is very similar to a very old recipe my MIL gave me, and I had to add apple juice to her recipe, too. I baked the cake in a 9" springform pan. I'll use a 9x13 next time. I withheld the extra star because it really does need more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
A very good recipe. I used a little less sugar and oil and added applesauce making it a bit healthier and it also helped making it mix easier. It wasn't dry at all and like other readers found it to be better the next day. I used pecans instead of walnuts because thats what I had on hand. I served with powdered sugar & a some whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neshanic Station, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was so amazing! My kids love it so much I make it and put it in their lunch for snacks. When I made it the first time I thought the recipe would not turn out as the batter is so thick and there is so many apples, I was wrong. Don't be decieved by this. Mix the apples very well in the batter, it will cook better this way. If it does not turn out then you did something wrong, try again! I've made this 12 times and have yet to have it not turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
was kind of puzzled because the "batter" was dry, but when you add the apples it looks like a batter. Family just loved it. I baked it in a Bunt pan and sprinkled brown sugar, cinnamon and apples on the bottom before pouring the batter in and baked for 1 hr to carmelize the brown sugar and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARIPOSEY01
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
What an awesome harvest cake! So moist & hearty, just delicious. I did make a couple of changes, some as suggested by other reviewers. #1, I added a 3rd egg. #2, I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour. #3, I topped it with a simple glaze (2 c. powdered sugar, 1/4 c. melted butter, 1 tsp. vanilla extract...then add skim milk to thin to desired consistency). Our family ate it up & our guests went on & on. Will make again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARIPOSEY01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
My family and friends think I'm a really good cook. However, they don't usually give me high marks for my baking and frankly I don't blame them. It's really not my thing! I made this Amazing Apple Cake and an amazing thing happened. EVERYONE loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
this was amazing! we made it with granny smith apples and it was delicious! i don't like baked apples but i loved this cake. it's not too sweet which is nice. if you want to sweeten it up, just add white frosting to it and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I added a box of vanilla pudding mix (dry). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grrrama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States