Amazing Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Would sub butter for oil --Just too oily, but tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I added an extra half teaspoon of ground cloves for spice. Did beat the eggs/oil and sugar together before adding the rest. And I baked it in a bundt pan. I'd give it 5 full stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rindge, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Glad I didn't listen to the reviewers that gave this a poor rating. As I was mixing the apples and walnuts into the batter, I thought "this can't be right...there are entirely too many apples and not enough batter!". But I'm not too proud to admit when I'm wrong. And was I wrong! This cake is moist, chocked full of apples and walnuts, and definitely a keeper. The only note I would add is that I greased and floured my 9x9 baking pan, since I am used to doing that anyways. I'm glad I did. The cake pops right out. Try this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laddy09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very easy to make and my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Are you sure this size pan is right or is it for 2 pans? Filled the pan and it overflowed and also took long to cook,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
OMG! And WOW! This Apple Cake was AMAZING! My husband been wanting to make an applecake for the longest a childhoood thing.So I found this recipe and we followed it to a tee!Yes it seemed dry but dudnt add or changed anything we used red delicious apples. This cake came out soooo perfect I couldnt get enough of it! :) It was so tasty and moist from the apples! And it was even better the next day! But I cant take the credit cause all I did was peel and chopped the apples ;) husband did with the help of this FABULOUS APPLE CAKE RECIPE..THANK YOU! This is now a new family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I liked this cake, but made a few adjustments. I substituted 1/2 cup melted butter for the oil because I like the taste of butter and decreased the sugar so that I used 1 cup total. I also substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup of the white flour. The second cup of flour, I used self-rising flour, because it was what I had in the cupboard. With the use of the self-rising flour, I decreased the leavener so that I used 1 tsp baking soda total. Finally, the batter was dry, so I added about 1/4 cup milk. I baked it in a bundt pan (open cylinder in the middle). The final result was very tasty... cakey but had a nice density to it (from the whole wheat flour) and not too sweet, but definitely sweet enough. I also think the whole wheat flour complemented the rustic apple nature of the cake. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This turned out amazingly well. I was concerned however when there was twice the amount of apple in the bowl as there was batter. I was going to put in the walnuts but didn't see how they'd ever fold in. No matter though, once it baked, it nicely formed into a cake, the baking soda and eggs doing their thing. And there definitely wound up being plenty of room for walnuts. Hot out of the oven, the cake was kinda dry. Three days later, it's moist and tasty, and you'd think you got a deal if you paid $3 for a piece at your local cafe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very dry mixture. I followed the recipe exactly. This mixture did not turn into batter. It turned into crumble. I thought it might fool me and bake up into a cake, but basically I got an apple crisp that tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Something was missing.....Momma would say it tasted too "fresh." I wish I had either used self-rising flour or thought to add a pinch of salt. I made up for it by adding a brown butter glaze and the kids ate it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States