Amazing Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This cake is absolutely fantastic. I made some tiny changes: I subbed light brown sugar for white sugar. I only put in one tsp of cinnamon. I subbed melted butter for oil. This is a very very apple-y, superdense, moist cake...just how I like 'em!!! Yes the batter looks bizarre when you have everything in there but the apples, but just DO IT and put the apples in...it works. I cut the apples into really tiny pieces and that made it moist. To save some time, I used a corer/sectioner that divides into 12 pieces then sliced the sections very thin and small. I used I think 3 medium Granny Smiths and one red delicious. I baked it in a 10-inch Lodge cast iron skillet. This recipe will be in my permanent collection. It's everything I love in a fruit cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Add 1 tsp of salt to the dry ingredients to bring out the flavor better. Without salt the taste is a little flat. I agree - 350 degrees is better. It took an extra 20 minutes at 325. I used a deep pie dish and substituted pears for apples and it was wonderful. (I wanted to make a cake and pears were all I had!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saemma
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delicious, moist, flavourful! The only modifications I did was decrease the oil by half ( I used cold pressed olive oil) and the sugar by about 2 tablespoons, also and made a streusel topping to cover the top. I also added a bit of grapefruit rind to the egg mixture for fun. :) Here's the recipe I used for the streusel. 3/4 cup sugar 3/4 cup flour 1 tablespoon water 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon 1/4 cup butter, softened Mix all ingredients until crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This apple cake is amazing. I was looking for a recipe that used a 9X9 pan and ran across this recipe. The batter is very dry before adding the apples and I ended up using my hands to mix the batter and then again when I added the apples-I wasn't sure what the outcome would be but the cake turned out delicious. I've made it twice using only 1 Cup of sugar and about 4 cups of apples but next time will use the full 5 1/2 cups of apples. I've always used the apple cake recipe from the Betty Crocker cookbook and I thought this recipe was much better. More apples, less batter and it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I followed this recipe to the tee, with the exception of the pan size. I used a 9"x13" pan which was the only one I had that was closest to the 9"x9" pan size called for in the recipe. This turned out GREAT!!! I too thought it would be dry as it had no texture to hold it together when I dumped it in the pan. Alas! It all held together perfectly and was very moist. Was great topped with ice cream. Will definitely make this every apple season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
We added a teaspoon of almond extract, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
i've done this twice, once with two granny smith apples (unpeeled), once with four. i swapped the white sugar for dark brown and added a cup of liquid (i used plain water, but milk or juice is fine) to create a more fluid, smoother batter. i read one review that claims the juice from the apples adds enough liquid, but i kind of doubt that works. GS apples definitely don't add liquid. but if i made this twice, even with the changes, that means it's good and easy, and it is. we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
It was ridiculously easy to make and soooooooo tasty, I recommend it for a simple, no fuss, nutritious and easy recipe. I just felt that it needed more oil or water to the ingredients mentioned as the batter was very dry initially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have made this so many times now. It is absolutely wonderful! You do have to be careful when picking which kind of apples you put in it though. Some of them just don't taste good at all. I've used cream cheese frosting on this, but I've also found that leaving it plain and then having the caramel cream frosting (recipe on this site) as a glaze is quite good too. I put the glaze in a bottle off to the side and squirt it on whenever I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Would sub butter for oil --Just too oily, but tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States