Amazing Almond Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This recipe was a big hit with my whole family. It is now a regular on my meal-planning calendar. One batch makes two 8x8 pans, so I freeze one without the cheese, crackers and almonds. I add those when I'm ready to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Very quick prep...and very good texture to the dish...however, I would cut the mayo amount by half ! The 1 cup of mayo almost overpowered the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
My husband absolutely hates mayo, so I took it out and substituted a half cup of sour cream instead. It was wonderful! Very simple dish to prepare and it went so far for my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I gave this 3 stars although it is a VERY good dish. However, I did some things different than the recipe says. First, the recipe only calls for cooked chicken it does not say how to cook it so, I sautéed 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts in olive oil (I never measure anything), then I used 1 can of cream of mushroom and a half can of cream of onion (Next time I will try cream of celery), 1 can of the chicken broth, then I added the mayo approx. 3/4 cup + a dollop, the celery, onion, water chestnuts (cut into small pieces), then the juice from one lemon fresh squeezed into sauce mix, salt, and garlic powder. I boiled wide egg noodles (instead of rice) and mixed everything. (including the noodles), then I put everything in a casserole dish and cooked for 20 minutes, then I topped it with the ritz cracker and butter mix, I used almonds and Colby however next time I am thinking I will omit the Almonds, and use a mixed shredded cheese for top. This was the BEST casserole I have ever made. My family wanted more more more. I changed it up according to everyone’s reviews (especially the "only tastes like mayo" review), Thank you for the base recipe I would not have been able to do it without that. This is def a 10 star casserole after the changes!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This was really easy and quite good. I can't give it a 5 yet, but some tweaking next time and we will have a hit. I loved the almonds on top, but the Colby cheese turned brick hard and all of the almonds stuck to the cheese. I think next time I will just mix it all together add a few more spices and we will have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I must have done something wrong because, all the reviews are great, but this waas terrible! Bland dry and smelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegasbaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
All you can taste is the mayo. Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I was afraid to try it since there weren't any reviews yet, but I'm glad I did...it was tasty and pretty easy! My in laws loved it and they are pretty particular! I forgot the lemon juice and sauteed the celery and onion in butter just to soften them a bit...it was very good! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and found that the celery and onions were VERY over powering. I could not even eat more than a few bites. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newchefgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was GREAT. The whole family, even 4-8 year old kids couldn't get enough of it! It's a definite keeper. I left out the water chestnuts. Replaced celery with ~1 tsp of celery salt, used only half an onion, used water instead of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States